Share Data Using Web Console
Using the Web Console, you can share the backed up file and folders on your computer or Edge Drive to multiple users. File or folder sharing can be achieved in one of the following ways:
- Grant selected users access to view or edit your file or folder.
You can also assign an expiry date for the share. After the defined number of days, the user will no longer have access to the shared file or folder.
In addition, you can also allow the user you share with permissions to reshare the file or folder. During a reshare, the user can set the expiry and access permissions based on the permissions obtained from the parent share owner.
- Create a share URL that can be sent to any public user. The user does not require a Web Console account.
You can also limit the access by setting a password for the shared URL. Users must enter the password in order to view the file or folder.
When you share a file or folder, you can also set the following configurations for the share:
- Allow the share user to reshare the file or folder to other users.
When you enable reshare, the user you share with share owner and can further reshare the file to other users. However, the permissions that can be assigned to the reshared user depends on the permissions set by the parent share owner for that file or folder. For example, if you assigned view permissions to the shared user, the share user can reshare the file with view permissions only. Similarly. if you assigned edit permissions to the shared user, the share user can reshare the file or folder with view or edit permissions.
In addition, the share user can also generate a public share link and email it to multiple users, who do not have a Web Console account. For instructions, see Creating a Public Share Link.
- Set an expiry date for the share. After the defined number of days, the user will no longer have access to the shared file or folder.
When you reshare a file, the number of days for expiry cannot exceed the days defined by the parent share owner.
- Include custom messages in the notification email to the share users.
Last modified: 4/25/2019 8:18:33 PM