V11 Service Pack 11

License Requirements - Oracle Agent

By default, the agent uses an Evaluation license. After the evaluation period is complete, you need to obtain a permanent license from your Software Provider.

You can choose to use one of the following licensing mechanisms:

  • Traditional License, based upon products and features in your CommCell.
  • Capacity License, based on the amount of data you want to protect.

For comprehensive information on licensing, see License Administration.

Traditional License

The following license types are available for the Oracle Agent. You need to obtain the appropriate licenses based on your environment.

Agent or Component

License Type

Oracle on Unix

Application Class 2

Oracle on Microsoft Windows

Application Class 1

If you have a clustered environment, you must also obtain the following licenses based on the operating system.

Agent or Component

License Type


HP-UX File System

Server File System

VERITAS Cluster for HP-UX

Cluster Group


Linux File System

Server File System

  • Red Hat Linux Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for Linux

Cluster Group


Sun Solaris File System

Server File System

  • Solaris Sun Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for Solaris

Cluster Group


Microsoft Windows File System (Server Class)

Server File system

Microsoft Windows File System (Cluster)

Cluster Group

Capacity License

If you plan to use capacity based licensing, you must obtain the following license:

License Type

License Consumption


1 license per CommCell for n Terabytes (TB) of protected data

Last modified: 2/28/2018 12:27:56 AM