Loading...

Closing a Case in Case Manager

When the data in a case no longer needs to be retained or searched, reviewers can close the case. Although a closed case cannot be edited or searched, reviewers can still view details of a closed case from the Case Manager tab.

Caution: Closing a case might cause data to be lost. Consider the following before closing a case:

  • Once a case is closed, case data will be pruned according to the retention settings of the storage policy associated to the data.
  • Searches cannot be performed on a closed case.
  • Closed cases cannot be reopened.

Procedure

  1. Log in to the Compliance Search page, and then in the upper right click Case Manager.
  2. Click the case that you want to close, and then click Close.
  3. In the Confirm Closure box that appears, type your reasons for closing the case.

    Note: After a case is closed, it cannot be reopened. Data in a closed case is not protected and is be pruned according to the retention settings of the storage policy associated to the data.

  4. Click OK.

    The Case Status is marked Closed.

Related Topics

If you want to completely remove the case from Case Manager, see Deleting a Case from Case Manager.

Last modified: 8/15/2018 8:39:03 PM