Deleting an Agent, Instance, or Subclient
The following sections describe the steps involved in deleting an agent, instance, or subclient.
When you delete an instance or backupset, the associated data is logically deleted and you can no longer access the corresponding data from CommCell Console for recovery purposes.
Refer to the troubleshooting article on Recovering Data Associated with Deleted Clients and Storage Policies for information on how to recover data if you accidentally delete an entity.
Deleting an Agent
You must uninstall or deconfigure the agent software from the client computer before deleting it from CommCell Browser. After you delete the client software, you can either leave the corresponding data intact for an appropriate action or you can remove the data immediately. If you choose to remove the data immediately, you must delete the agent from the CommCell Browser. If you delete the agent, all of the agent's data is irretrievably lost.
- You cannot delete an agent while operations for that agent are running.
- From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers > client.
- Right-click the agent, and then click Delete.
- A confirmation message appears with the following message:
This operation will permanently delete the data backed up from this level and it cannot be restored.
- Click OK to continue with the deletion operation or click No to cancel the deletion.
Deleting an Instance
Consider the following before deleting an instance:
- When you delete a specific instance all job schedules and job histories that pertain to any of the levels within the deleted instance are deleted.
- You cannot delete an instance if it is being backed up. Attempts to delete an instance under such conditions cause the deletion to fail. If a backup is in progress, either wait for the backup to complete or kill the backup job using the Job Manager. Once the backup is no longer in progress, you can delete the instance level.
- You cannot delete an instance if there is only one instance present for an agent. To delete the final instance, you must remove the agent software from the client computer.
- From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | <Agent>
- Right-click the <Instance> that you want to delete, point to All Tasks and then click Delete.
- Click Yes to confirm the deletion. (Clicking No cancels the deletion and retains the node.)
- Type the requested phrase in the Enter Confirmation Text dialog box and click OK. This should delete the instance.
Deleting a Subclient
Consider the following before deleting a subclient:
- You cannot delete a default subclient.
- Schedules associated with the subclient are also automatically deleted.
- From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers | <Client> | <Agent> | <Instance>.
- Right-click the <Subclient> that you want to delete, and then click Delete.
- A confirmation message is displayed, asking if you want to delete the subclient.
Click No to cancel the deletion and retain the subclient, or click Yes to continue the deletion.
Last modified: 5/28/2018 12:29:12 PM