License Requirements - UNIX File System iDataAgent

By default, the agent uses an Evaluation license. After the evaluation period is complete, you need to obtain a permanent license from your Software Provider.

You can choose to use one of the following licensing mechanisms:

  • Traditional License, based upon products and features in your CommCell.
  • Capacity License, based on the amount of data you want to protect.

For comprehensive information on licensing, see License Administration.

Traditional License

The following license types are available for the UNIX File System iDataAgent. Obtain the appropriate licenses based on your environment.

The list also includes the licenses you need if you have a clustered environment.

Note: If you plan to protect distributed file systems (such as GPFS, Greenplum, and Hadoop), you will need to create pseudo-clients. You must obtain an additional file system license for each pseudo-client that you plan to configure.

Agent or Component

License Type


IBM AIX File System

Server File System

  • IBM PowerHA for AIX (formerly HACMP) Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for IBM AIX

Cluster Group


Free BSD File System

Server File System


HP-UX File System

Server File System

VERITAS Cluster for HP-UX

Cluster Group


Linux File System

Server File System

  • Red Hat Linux Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for Linux

Cluster Group


Sun Solaris File System

Server File System

  • Solaris Sun Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for Solaris

Cluster Group

Capacity License

If you plan to use capacity licenses, you must obtain the following license:

License Type

License Consumption


1 license per CommCell for n Terabytes (TB) of protected data

Last modified: 1/12/2018 12:26:42 PM