Loading...

Decommissioning a Client

You can decommission a client (for example, a server or laptop) in the CommCell Console by first retiring the client, and then deleting the client.

Caution: Decommissioning a client will remove the client and all of its data from the Commvault system. This action cannot be undone.

Procedure

  1. From the CommCell Browser, click Client Computers.
  2. Right-click the client you wish to decommission, and then click All tasks > Retire client.

    The license for the client is now released. If the client is available on the network, the system will also uninstall software on the machine.

    Note: You can continue to restore data from a retired client until its retention parameters are met.

  3. Right-click the client you wish to decommission, and then click All tasks > Delete.

    A confirm delete message will appear.

  4. Click OK.

    A Enter Confirmation Text message will appear, asking you to confirm deletion of the client.

  5. Enter the following text in the confirmation text message field: "erase and reuse media".
  6. Click OK.

    The client and its data are completely removed from the Commvault system, and the client will no longer appear in Client Computers in the CommCell Console.

Last modified: 9/25/2019 10:11:38 AM