Loading...

Live Sync Requirements and Options for Hyper-V

Requirements

  • The destination server must be running Windows Server 2012 R2 or later.
  • You can use Live Sync to replicate virtual machines from a streaming backup, an auxiliary copy, or a backup copy. You cannot replicate virtual machines from  IntelliSnap backups.
  • To validate destination virtual machines, you must install Hyper-V integration services on the source virtual machines, and you must select the Validate Destination VM (Power ON & OFF) option when configuring the Live Sync operation.

Options

The following sections provide information about the options on each page of the Live Sync Options for Subclient wizard.

Destination

  • Virtualization Client: Select the virtualization client to be used as the destination for replicated VMs.

    You can replicate only to an existing virtualization client.

    You cannot create a VM with the same name on the original virtualization client. If you are replicating the virtual machine to the original virtualization client, enter a new name in the Destination VM column. If you use the same name as the source VM for the replicated VM, select a different destination from the Virtualization Client list.

    • Instance Details: Displays the user account associated with the virtualization client.
  • Destination Client: Select the VSA proxy to be used for the Live Sync operation.

    The operation replicates virtual machines to the selected proxy. By default, the operation uses the default proxy for the virtualization client of the destination site.

Virtual Machines

  • Restore Location: Select one of the following options:
    • New folder: Select this option to specify the location on the destination client where you want to replicate the virtual machine, and then enter the path in the Destination Path column. The VM files and disks are restored to the location that you specify.
  • Hyper-V default folder: Select this option to restore the virtual machine to the Hyper-V default folder. Select this option when you do not know which location on the destination client has sufficient space to restore a virtual machine.
  • Add VMs: Click to browse for backed-up virtual machines that you can replicate.
  • Remove VMs: Click to remove selected VMs from the replication schedule.
  • Source VM and Disk: This column displays the list of all the source virtual machines that are selected for replication.

    Expand each virtual machine to view the disks in that virtual machine.

  • Destination VM: This column displays the name of each destination virtual machine.

    To change the name of any virtual machine, click in the corresponding row and enter the new name. If you use the same name as the source VM for the replicated VM, select a different destination from the Virtualization Client list on the Destination page.

    If the destination VM name matches the name of an existing virtual machine in the target location, the destination VM is not replaced unless a) it was created in a previous Live Sync operation, or b) you use the Unconditionally overwrite VM with the same name option on the Restore Options page. 

  • Destination Path: Enter the path for the destination virtual machine on the specified restore location.
  • Settings: To specify settings for multiple VMs, select the VMs and then click Configure.

    The Settings dialog box appears. You can provide the following information:

    • Destination VM (displayed only if you selected a single VM): You can change the name of the destination VM in this box.
    • Edit Destination VM Name (displayed only if you selected multiple VMs):
      • Prefix: Enter a prefix to add to the destination VM names for the VMs you selected.
      • Suffix: Enter a suffix to add to the destination VM names for the VMs you selected.
    • Register Virtual Machine(s) with Failover Cluster: Select this option to register replicated virtual machines to the failover cluster for the destination client. 

      Virtual machines in a failover cluster can migrate to another Hyper-V server.

      To register virtual machines with the failover cluster, the user account for the virtualization client must be part of the Hyper-V Administrators group.

      For a Hyper-V cluster, the user account must have full Cluster Permissions (Read and Full Control).

    • Network Adapter: Select a network adapter to use for the replicated VMs. If you select Not Connected, then the virtual machine is restored without a network connection.

Restore Options

  • Validate Destination VM (Power ON & OFF): Verify that the destination VM is bootable by turning it on and then turning it off. Changes that result from turning the VM on are not preserved. If Hyper-V integration services were not installed on the source VM at the time of the backup, then the destination VM is not validated, even when this option is selected.

    If validation fails, then the Sync Status for the VM is marked as Sync Failed.

  • Unconditionally overwrite VM with the same name: Replace an existing virtual machine with a virtual machine that has the same name in the target location.

    If the destination VM is currently turned on, then the Live Sync fails, regardless of whether you select this option.

  • Distribute VM workload: To submit separate jobs for a Live Sync schedule, select this option and select the number of VMs per job. When this option is used, jobs are submitted sequentially, with each job beginning after the previous job has completed.

Last modified: 3/22/2019 10:17:54 PM