Loading...

Data Loss Prevention FAQ

Table of Contents

When unlocking multiple files, why am I asked for my passkey more than once?

Why is the list of authorized users blank?

If I erase content from the Web Console and then find my laptop, can I prevent my data from being erased?

When unlocking multiple files, why am I asked for my passkey more than once?

Files can only be unlocked by the passkey that was active at the time the files were locked. If you have changed your passkey, you might have different passkeys associated with different files. So, if you are unlocking multiple files that have different passkeys, you will be asked to enter each pass-key once. See Changing Your Data Loss Prevention Passkey.

Why is the list of authorized users blank?

The list of authorized users will be blank if you lock a file before you create a passkey. In this case, the file can only be unlocked if there is connectivity between the laptop and the CommServe host.

If I erase content from the Web Console and then find my laptop, can I prevent my data from being erased?

In most cases, no. If your device is powered on when you mark it lost and erase data, then the selected documents and folders on your lost device are immediately deleted. However, the erase content feature cannot erase data if your device is turned off when you confirm the deletion. In this case, the selected data will be deleted the next time your device is powered on. Therefore, if you mark your device lost and later find the device, perform the following task before you turn on your laptop:

  1. Open a web browser and log in to the Web Console. See Accessing the Web Console.
  2. Click My Data and under Computers, click the name of your laptop.
  3. In the Last Seen Location section, click Mark Device Found.

Last modified: 9/5/2018 7:00:26 PM