Restoring Azure Active Directory to Its Current Location (In Place)

Updated

On this page

Restore your backed up objects or attributes to the original location in Azure Active Directory. You can perform in-place restores using the Azure Active Directory application.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Applications > Active Directory.

    The Active Directory page appears.

  2. In the row for the app, click the action button , and then click Restore.

    The Backup content page appears.

  3. In the upper-left area of the page, from the App Registrations list, select an object type to view the objects.

    The objects that are available are App registrations, Groups, Enterprise applications, and Users.

  4. Optional: To find specific objects, in the Search all box, enter the name of the object type, or you can use the Object ID box to search for objects based on the ID number.

  5. To see backed up data for a specific time range, on top of the page, click Showing latest backup.

    • To see the most recent backup, click Show latest backups.

    • To see backups from a specific date, click Show backups as of a specific date, select a date, and then select the backup.

    • To see a backup from a date range, click Show backups for a date range, select a date range, and then select the backup.

  6. To hide deleted items, click the action button , and then click Hide deleted items.

  7. To show the list of deleted items, click the action button , and then click Show deleted items only.

  8. Select the check boxes for the objects that you want to restore.

    Tip: When you select an individual object, the attributes of the object appear in the Object properties pane. If you select multiple objects, the object attributes are not displayed.

  9. In the upper-left area of the page, click Restore.

    The Restore dialog box appears.

  10. By default, Overwrite unconditionally is selected to overwrite objects in Azure AD, if the object already exists in the destination location.

    To skip the restore of files in the destination location, click Skip.

  11. To restore the relationships of all objects, attributes, and organizational units, move the Restore Relationship toggle key to the right.

  12. Click Submit.