Restoring a Full Azure Virtual Machine Out of Place

You can restore one or more virtual machines to a different location (out of place).

You can back up virtual machines configured with Azure unmanaged and managed disks. From these backups, you can restore full virtual machines and restore guest files and folders. Live browse and restore is not supported for VMs that are encrypted with either volume or disk encryption. In addition, you can restore a virtual machine disk and attach it to an existing virtual machine.

For managed disks, to manage storage and costs, you can select the disk type (standard HDD, standard SSD, or premium SSD) for the Azure destination VM.

Due to a Microsoft limitation, you cannot change the hostname of a restored virtual machine.

Before You Begin

  • If a passkey is configured for restores, you must have the passkey.

  • If you want to restore data using a specific MediaAgent and/or copy, review the information in MediaAgent and Copy Precedence Considerations for Virtualization Restores.

  • If you want to select the disk encryption set (DES) when you fully restore VMs, verify the following:

    • DES is available in the region you want restore the VM.

    • Microsoft.Compute/deskEncryptionSet/read is set in CVbackupRole. For more information, see Setting Up an Application and Tenant for Azure.

      Note

      Commvault runs the restore job whether or not the permission is assigned to CVbackupRole.

  • If you restore a DES-encrypted VM from a snapshot, the restored VM uses the same DES as the source VM.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. Click the VM groups tab.

    The VM group page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, click Restore for the VM group that contains the virtual machine.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. Select Full virtual machine.

    The Restore page appears.

  5. To choose a different MediaAgent or source copy for the restore, do the following:

    1. In the upper-right corner of the page, click Settings.

      The Settings dialog box appears.

    2. For MediaAgent, decide whether to have the Commvault software automatically select the MediaAgent or to specify a MediaAgent:

      • Automatic: By default, the Commvault software selects the MediaAgent for the restore operation based on availability and environment.

      • To restore data using a specific MediaAgent, from the list, select a MediaAgent.

    3. For Source, decide whether to have the Commvault software automatically select the copy of backup data or to specify the copy:

      • Automatic: By default, the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy and selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

      • To restore from a specific copy of backup data, from the list, select a backup copy.

    4. Click Save.

  6. Select the data to restore, and then click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  7. For Type, select Out of place.

  8. For Restore as, select the environment for the restored VM.

    By default, the Restore as list shows environment of the source hypervisor.

  9. For Destination, select the hypervisor to restore the VM to.

  10. For Access node, select the access node or access node group for the restore.

    If you are restoring multiple VMs, select Automatic to distribute the workload (VMs) in the restore job across the access nodes that are assigned for the destination hypervisor. First, the VMs are assigned to the access nodes by a region match. Then, if access nodes are not available in the same region, the VMs are assigned using the round-robin method. The Automatic option is available for full restore and conversion operations both from streaming backups and IntelliSnap backup copies.

    If you select an access node group to restore VMs, the Commvault software distributes the workload (instances or VMs) in the restore job across the access nodes (also called proxies) that are available in the access node group.

  11. If you are restoring multiple VMs, click All VMs to specify the same values for all the VMs you are restoring, or select individual VMs to specify values individually.

  12. Specify the following values:

    • VM display name: To change the name of an individual VM, enter the new name.

    • Enable edit destination VM name: If you are restoring multiple VMs, to change the names of the restored VMs, select this setting, select Prefix or Suffix, and then enter a string to add to the original display name.

    • Resource group: Select the resource group for the restored VM.

    • Region: Select the region for the restored VM.

    • Availability zone: Select the availability zone for the restored VM.

      This setting applies only to Azure managed disks.

      The zones listed apply only to the region that you selected for the restored VM.

      If you select the Auto option rather than a specific availability zone (1, 2, or 3), and if the feature is supported for the specified region and VM size, the VM is restored to the same availability zone as the source VM. Otherwise, it is restored without a zone (None).

    • Storage account: Select the Azure Standard or Premium general-purpose storage account for the restored VM.

      You can select a different storage account for each virtual machine and disk.

      Only locally-redundant storage (LRS) and StorageV2 (general purpose v2) accounts that are associated with the selected region for the restored VM are listed.

    • VM size: Select a size specification for the restored VM.

    • Disk type: Select the disk type for the restored VM:

      This setting applies only to Azure managed disks.

      • Original (same as the source VM)

      • Standard HDD

      • Standard SSD

      • Premium SSD

    • Security Group: Select a network security group for the restored VM or leave the default value of Auto Select.

    • Restore as a managed VM: To restore the VM as managed VM, select this check box.

      When you select this check box, the restore operation creates VM disks in the specified storage account, converts them to managed disks, and then attaches the disks to the restored VM.

    • Network settings

      • Virtual network/subnet: Select the network settings.

      • Preferred private IP type: Select either Dynamic or Static. If you select Static, enter the IP address.

      • Create/assign public IP: If you select this setting, the Public IP type setting appears.

      • Public IP type: Select either Dynamic or Static. If you select Static, enter the IP address.

    • Encryption Settings

      • Disk encryption type: Select the type of encryption for the restored VM:

        - Original

        - (Default) Encryption at-rest with a platform-managed key

        - Encryption at-rest with a customer-managed key

        - Double encryption with platform-managed and customer-managed keys

      • Disk encryption set: Select the relevant disk encryption set.

    • VM tags: You can add, modify, or delete tags for the restored VM.

      If the source VM has tags, those tags are displayed in the VM tags area, and you can modify or delete those tags.

      You can add tags by typing them or by browsing to select the tags.

  13. To automatically start the virtual machine after the restore is complete, select Power on VMs after restore.

    Note

    • The power state of the virtual machine does not affect subsequent backups.

    • For out-of-place restores, by default, the VM is powered off after the restore completes (regardless of whether you select or clear this check box).

  14. To delete an existing virtual machine, and then replace it with the restored VM, select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists.

  15. Click Submit.

To restore to a different virtualization platform, see Cross-Hypervisor Restores.

Loading...