Moving a Backup Location to a New Location

You can move a backup location from one location to a new location on the same MediaAgent or another MediaAgent. The destination path can be a local path or a network path.

When you move a backup location, deduplicated and non-deduplicated data that resides on the source backup location is moved to the destination backup location.

You can move a backup location to a new location in the following cases:

  • You want to move to another location that has more storage capacity.

  • You want to move to a faster disk media.

A move backup location operation involves the following steps:

  • Disables the pruning of data present on the source backup location.

  • During phase 1, the software copies the full volumes from the source backup location folder to the destination device. The software allows the operations like backup, restore, auxiliary copy, data verification, synthetic full and deduplication database (DDB) reconstruction.

  • During phase 2, the software suspends backup and other operations for the source backup location and copies the active volumes from the source backup location folder to the destination device.

  • Enables the pruning of data.

  • Resumes backup and other operations that are pending.

Notes

  • If the source backup location is a consolidated backup location, the software initiates multiple move backup location operations to move each backup location in the consolidated backup location.

  • When you move a backup location between two Linux MediaAgents, the move backup location operation does not support drill hole capability. If you move a backup location with drill hole capability, the backup location will consume more space after the move.

  • Any backup locations that failed to move will remain on the source backup location.

  • Do NOT add MediaAgent to the backup location while the move backup location operation is in progress. Otherwise, you will end up with duplicate MediaAgent on the backup location.

Before You Begin

  • Review the Move Backup Location - Support page.

  • Ensure that the destination backup location is not a sub folder under the source backup location.

  • Do not move the backup location to the software installation directory.

  • The move backup location operation overwrites the destination backup location. Therefore, ensure that the destination backup location is an empty folder.

  • Ensure that the destination backup location folder has at least 5% more free space than the space consumed by the source backup location.

  • Ensure that the source backup location has backup data.

  • Ensure that the source MediaAgent and the destination MediaAgent are online and accessible.

  • The user must have the Library Management permission or Library Administration permission on the library that hosts the backup location.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Storage > Disk.

    The Disk page appears.

  2. Click the disk storage.

    The disk storage page appears.

  3. Under the Backup Locations section, for the backup location that you want to move, click the Actions button action_button, and then click Move backup location.

    The Move backup location dialog box appears.

  4. Under Source, from MediaAgent list, select the source MediaAgent.

    In the MediaAgent list, more than one MediaAgent appears if the backup location is shared between MediaAgents.

  5. Under Destination, select Move to new location option.

  6. From MediaAgent list, select the MediaAgent to which you want to move the backup location.

  7. For the Type option, select Local or Network.

    • If you select Local, enter the new backup location in the Backup location box.

    • If you select Network, enter the following information:

      • Credential: From the list, select an appropriate credential to access the backup location. To create a new credential, click the Create New button.

        For instructions about creating a credential, see Adding a Credential to Credential Manager.

      • Backup location: Enter the network share you want backups to write to.

        Note

        If you provide an existing backup location as destination path, then system would perform move to existing backup location and consolidate backup locations.

  8. Click Save.

Result

  • After the completion of a move backup location job, the space on the source backup location is freed up after 24 hours (one day). To modify the time to keep the files on the source backup location, configure the Minutes to keep mount path files on source location after successful move mount path job parameter in the Media Management Configuration dialog box.

  • If the backup location move job fails or is killed, you must manually clean the data that was copied to the destination backup location.

What to Do Next

  • Verify that the destination device is online and accessible after the move.

  • Perform a disaster recovery backup. For instructions, see Performing a Disaster Recovery Backup.

  • If the source backup location or the destination backup location is a network path, the software automatically updates the credentials for the shared MediaAgents with the credentials from the new location. For other MediaAgents (with local or UNIX paths) that share the source backup location, you must modify the path to the new location. For instructions, see Modifying the Access Path for the MediaAgents.

Loading...