Restoring Full Red Hat Virtualization (RHEV) VMs

You can restore full Red Hat Virtualization VMs in place (to the original location) or out of place (to a different location).

Requirements

If a passkey is configured for restores, you must have the passkey.

Start the Restore Wizard

  1. From the Command Center navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization..

    The Overview page appears.

  2. On the VM groups tab, for the VM that you want to restore, click the action button action_button, and then select Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  3. Click Full virtual machine.

    The Full virtual machine page appears.

  4. To select a specific MediaAgent and/or source for the restore, in the upper-right area of the page, click the Settings button gear button.

    By default, the Commvault software automatically selects the MediaAgent and source as follows:

    • MediaAgent: The software selects a MediaAgent based on availability and environment.

    • Source: The software searches for the requested data in the primary copy. If the data is not found in the primary copy, the software selects a different copy.

    For more information, see MediaAgent and Copy Precedence Considerations for Virtualization Restores.

  5. Select the content to restore, and then click Restore.

    The restore wizard appears.

Perform an In Place Restore

  1. For Type, select In place.

  2. For Access node, select an access node or an access node group.

  3. Click Next.

    The Virtual Machines page appears.

  4. Click Next.

    The Restore Options page appears.

  5. Specify the following settings:

    • Power on VMs after restore: Automatically restart VMs after they are restored.

      The power state of the VM does not affect subsequent backups. If the VM is powered on during backups, by default, the VM is powered on again after the restore completes (unless you clear this check box).

    • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: Delete an existing VM and replace it with the restored VM.

    • Notify user on job completion: Receive an email notification that the restore is complete.

    • Under Additional options, for Disk provisioning, select one of the following options:

      • Original: (default) This option uses the same disk provisioning that the source VM used at the time of backup.

      • Pre-allocated: This option allocates disk space for all disks. A pre-allocated virtual disk has reserved storage that is the same size as the virtual disk itself.

      • Thin Provisioned: This option allocates disk space for all disks. For thin provisioned disks, storage is not reserved and is allocated as needed during runtime. This option allows for storage over-commitment, under the assumption that most disks are not fully utilized and storage capacity can be utilized better.

    The Summary page appears.

  6. Review the summary, and then click Submit to start the restore.

Perform an Out of Place Restore

  1. For Type, select Out of place.

  2. For Restore as, select the platform to restore the VMs to.

  3. For Destination, select the client to restore the VMs to.

    For information about restoring to a different platform, see Cross-Hypervisor Restores.

  4. For Access node, select an access node or an access node group.

  5. Click Next.

    The Virtual Machines page appears.

  6. Select the VMs to restore.

  7. To modify the restore settings, click Edit, and then specify the following:

    • For the names of the restored instance or instances, specify the following:

      • For a single instance, in VM display name, enter a name for the restored instance.

      • For multiple instances, you can add a prefix and/or a suffix to the names of the source instances. For example, you can add a suffix of "-restored".

    • Cluster: Select the cluster to restore the VMs to.

    • Storage domain: Select the storage domain to restore the VMs to.

    • Network: Select a network connection that is available at the destination, or select Automatic.

  8. Click Next.

    The Restore Options page appears.

  9. Specify the following settings:

    • Power on VMs after restore: Automatically restart VMs after they are restored.

      The power state of the VM does not affect subsequent backups. If the VM is powered on during backups, by default, the VM is powered on again after the restore completes (unless you clear this check box).

    • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: Delete an existing VM and replace it with the restored VM.

    • Reuse existing VM client: Reuse the existing VM client and map its information, such as client name, host name, and client ID to the source VM.

    • Notify user on job completion: Receive an email notification that the restore is complete.

  10. Click Next.

    The Summary page appears.

  11. Review the summary, and then click Submit to start the restore.

Loading...