Loading...

Retiring a Client

You can retire a client (for example, a server or a laptop) in the Command Center and CommCell Console. Retiring a client with no backup data releases the license of the client, uninstalls the Commvault software on the client computer, and then deletes the client from the Commvault system.

Note: If you perform the retire operation on a client with backup data, the operation releases the license, uninstalls the Commvault software, and retains the client. Overall, the client moves to the deconfigured state and the data is still available for data restore operation until the retention parameters of the data are met.

Caution: After you retire a client, you cannot undo the retirement. To add the client to the Commvault system again, you must add it as a new client.

Before You Begin

You must have the Delete client permission to retire a client.

Procedure

  1. From the CommCell Browser, click Client Computers.
  2. Right-click the client that you want to retire, and then click All tasks > Retire client.

    The license for the client is released. If the client is available on the network, the system uninstalls the Commvault software from the computer.

    If the ContentStore does not have backed-up data for the client, then the client is deleted from the Commvault system. If the ContentStore does have backed-up data for the client, then the client is not deleted. It remains in the deconfigured state and can be restored when required.

  3. If the client is not deleted, complete the following steps:
    1. Right-click the client, and then go to All Tasks > Delete.

      A confirmation message appears.

    2. Enter the text that the message prompts you to enter, and then click OK.

Results

The client and its data are completely deleted from the Commvault system, and the client does not appear in Client Computers in the CommCell Console.

Last modified: 5/21/2021 7:18:40 PM