Loading...

Restoring Full Virtual Machines for Red Hat Virtualization

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, in the row for the VM group, click the action button action_button , and then click Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, in the upper-right corner of the page, from the Select source list, select the copy.

    If you select Automatic (default), the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full virtual machine to restore one or more full virtual machines.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Expand the tree on the left and select the objects to be restored.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
    • Show backups for a date range: Only display data within the data range you specify.
  7. Click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Provide the requested information:
    • Destination: To restore to a different RHEV Manager host, select the hypervisor from the list.
    • Access node: To use a different proxy for the restore, select it from the list.
    • Instance name: Type a new virtual machine name in the box.

      If an existing VM with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists, the restore job fails.

    • Cluster: Browse to select the new destination cluster.
    • Storage Domain: Select the destination storage domain.
    • Network: Select a network connection that is available at the destination, or choose Auto select.
    • Power on VMs after restore: Start the VM automatically when the restore completes.
    • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: To delete an existing virtual machine and replace it with the restored VM, select this option.

      If you do not select this option when restoring a virtual machine to a location that has a VM with the same name, the restore fails.

    Additional options:

    • Disk Provisioning: Select from the following:
      • Original: (default) This option uses the same disk provisioning that the source virtual machine used at the time of backup.
      • Preallocated: This option allocates disk space for all disks. A preallocated virtual disk has reserved storage that is the same size as the virtual disk itself.
      • Thin Provisioned: This option allocates disk space for all disks. For thin provisioned disks, storage is not reserved and is allocated as needed during runtime. This allows for storage over commitment under the assumption that most disks are not fully utilized and storage capacity can be utilized better.
  9. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 3/9/2020 2:48:53 PM