Loading...

Deleting Messages in Exchange Mailbox

Admin user needs to have Delete capability to be able to delete the data in the Command Center The delete feature allows administrators to permanently delete emails/folders/mailboxes that were archived. Permanently deleting data is useful if you want to delete data so that it cannot be restored again. For example, you might want to delete data for legal purposes or compliance regulations. Once the data is deleted by the admin user, he cannot view or restore the deleted data with the Include deleted items option in the Command Center.

End user cannot view the data in Web Console, that was deleted by the admin user in the Command Center.

The delete operation only masks the archived data from being viewed in Command Center and Web Console. The source data remains in the mailbox on the Exchange server and in the Index server. Therefore, you must first delete the data from the source so that it is not backed up again. You must also delete the stubs from the source before running the delete operation so that they are not backed up again.

The following table summarizes what the users can or cannot do in the Command Center and Web Console.

Exchange IDA

Command Center

Web Console

User Mailbox

Admin user can view or delete emails/folders/mailboxes.

 

End user can view or delete emails/folders.

 

Journal Mailbox

Admin user can view or delete emails.

 

End user has no access to Web Console or Command Center.

 

ContentStore Mailbox

Admin user can view or delete emails.

 

End user has no access to Web Console or Command Center.

 

Last modified: 10/17/2019 4:14:12 PM