Loading...

Retiring a Client or an Agent

You can retire a client or an agent. Retiring releases the software license, uninstalls the Commvault software, and then deletes the file server, laptop, virtual machine, or application from the Commvault system.

Caution: After you retire a client or an agent, you cannot undo the retirement. To add the client or an agent to the Commvault system again, you must add it as a new client or agent.

Note: You can continue to restore data from a retired client or agent until the retention parameters for the data are met.

Before You Begin

To retire a client or an agent, you must have the Delete permission for the client. For more information, see Permissions by Feature - Client.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to the location for the client or agent that you want to retire:
    • For a file server: Go to Protect > File servers.
    • For a laptop: Go to Protect > Laptops.
    • For a cloud app: Go to Protect > Cloud apps.
  2. For the client or agent that you want to retire, click the action button action_button, and then click Retire.

    The Confirm retire client dialog box appears.

  3. Click Yes.
    • If no backed-up data for the client or agent exists, then the client or agent is permanently deleted from the database.
    • If backed-up data exists, then the client or agent is deconfigured, where the license is released and the system uninstalls the Commvault software from the client or agent.

      You must perform the following steps to delete the client or agent from the database:

      1. For the client or agent that you want to delete, click the action button action_button, and then click Delete.

        The Confirm delete client dialog box appears.

      2. Click Yes.

        The client or agent is permanently deleted from the database.

Results

  • If the client is not available on the network, then it is not deleted from the CommServe database. You must manually uninstall the Commvault software from the client.
  • If there are multiple agents installed on a client, then the client is not deleted from the CommServe database. However, if the agent that you retired is the only agent installed on the client, and no backed-up data exists, then the client is deleted from the CommServe database.

Last modified: 6/15/2020 10:00:27 PM