Loading...

Retiring a Server

You can retire a client (for example, a server or a laptop) in the Command Center and CommCell Console. Retiring a client releases the license of the client, uninstalls the Commvault software on the client computer, and then deletes the client from the Commvault system.

Note: If the ContentStore has backed-up data for the client, the client is deconfigured, and not deleted. You can continue to restore data from a deconfigured client until the retention parameters of the data are met.

Caution: After you retire a client, you cannot undo the retirement. To add the client to the Commvault system again, you must add it as a new client.

Before You Begin

You must have the Delete client permission to retire a client.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Manage > Servers.

    The Servers page appears.

    Note: You can continue to restore data from a retired client until the retention parameters for the data are met.

  2. For the client that you want to decommission, click the Action button action_button, and then click Retire.

    The license for the client is released. If the client is available on the network, the system also uninstalls the Commvault software from the client.

    The Confirm retire client dialog box appears.

  3. Click Yes.
    • If no backed-up data for the client exists, the license for the client is released. If the client is available on the network, then the system also uninstalls the Commvault software from the client.
    • If backed-up data for the client exists, then you must perform the following steps to delete the client from the database:
      1. For the client that you want to delete, click the Action button action_button, and then click Delete.

        The Confirm delete client dialog box appears.

      2. Click Yes.
      3. The license for the client is released. If the client is available on the network, then the system also uninstalls the Commvault software from the client. In addition, the client is permanently deleted from the database.

Results

The client and its data are completely deleted from the Commvault system, and the client does not appear in the Command Center page for the client.

Last modified: 2/10/2020 8:05:15 PM