Loading...

Editing Backup Content with Web Console

The following sections describe the steps to configure the backup content for your client prior a backup operation.

Add Content

By default, the existing backup content (usually shown in gray) is defined by the administrator. You can add folders to be backed up in addition to the content defined by the administrator.

To select the files and folders to backup, use the following steps:

  1. Log on to Web Console.
  2. From the Web Console, go to My Data.
  3. Click the Computers tab.
  4. Click Settings for the computer that you require.

    The files and folders included in the backup are displayed in the Content section.

  5. In the Content section, click Edit.

     The Files and Folders to Backup dialog box appears.

  6. To specify the content, perform either of the following, and then click Save:
    • Click the Type Custom Path box, and then enter the path of the file or folder.
    • Click theBrowse Paths icon at the upper-right corner of the window and browse for the content.

    The newly added file or folder is displayed in the Content section. It is included in the next backup of the computer.

Remove Predefined Content

Your computer is configured with predefined backup content defined by the administrator during the Web Console setup. The administrator defines the backup content using a subclient policy associated with your client. If you do not want to back up one or more of the folders defined by the administrator, use the following steps to override the default backup content:

Note: By overriding the default backup content, future content and filter selection changes made by the administrator will not apply to your client.

  1. Log on to Web Console.
  2. From the Web Console, go to My Data.
  3. Click the Computers tab.
  4. Click Settings for the computer that you require.

    The files and folders included in the backup are displayed in the Content section.

  5. In the Content section, click Edit.

     The Files and Folders to Backup dialog box appears.

  6. To remove folders, select the check box next to the folders that you want to remove, and then click the Delete Paths icon.
  7. In the confirmation window, click Yes.
  8. Click Save.

Revert Back to Predefined Content

If you override the backup content defined by the administrator, but you would like to return to the administrator's content selections, use the steps described below:

Note: The backup content and filters you defined for the client are deleted when you revert to the administrator's selections.

  1. From the Web Console, click My Data.
  2. Click the Computers tab.
  3. Click Settings for the computer that you require.
  4. In the Content section, click Edit.

    The Files and Folders to Backup dialog box appears.

  5. Click Reset to Default Content.
  6. To confirm, click Yes in the Confirmation dialog box.

Last modified: 9/20/2018 7:53:29 PM