Loading...

Sharing a File or Folder from the Web Console

You can share the backed up files and folders on your computer or Edge Drive from the Web Console. When you share a file or folder, you set the permission levels (view or edit) for each user. After signing in to the Web Console, the users you are sharing with can view or edit the files and folders depending on the permissions granted.

Before You Begin

  • Make sure you have Sharing capability assigned to your user account and the files and folders are backed up. Contact your administrator to assign the capability.
  • Users you share with must have a Web Console account.

Procedure

  1. From the Web Console, go to My Data.
  2. On the left navigation pane, click the appropriate tab and navigate to the file or folder to be shared:
    • To access a file or folder on a client computer, click  Computers, and then click Restore for the corresponding <Computer Name> that contains the file or folder.

      Alternatively, you can click Settings for the computer containing the data that you want to restore, and click Select Files in the Restore section.

    • To access a file or folder on Edge Drive, click Drive.
    • To access a file or folder that was already shared to you, click Shares, and then click Shared With Me.
  3. Right-click the file or folder and select Share.

    Alternatively, you can select the check box next to the file or folder and then click Share.

    To reshare a file, under Shares, point to the file or folder to be reshared, and then click the Reshare icon .

  4. In the Share File/Folder window, enter the user name or email address of the user.
  5. Select a permission for the user:
    •  Can View - assign read-only permission on the shared file or folder.
    •  Can Edit - enable the user to modify the contents of the shared file or folder.
  6. Click the plus sign .

    The user name is added to the list of users you are sharing with.

  7. Optional: To set an expiry date for the share, select Expire the link in n days, and click the n days link, where n is the number of days after which the share is not accessible.

    By default, the expiry is set to Never. You can set the expiry date to 7 or 30 days or click Custom to select a date from the calendar.

  8. Optional: To allow the file or folder to be reshared, click Yes.
  9. Optional: To send an email notification to the users you share with, select Notify people via email and enter a message that will be added to the notification email.
  10. Click Share.

Result

The file or folder is now listed under the Shared By Me section in the My Data page of the Web Console. The shared files and folders are also marked with a shared tag.

If email notification was enabled, the user will receive a notification email with a link to the shared file or folder.

External users, who are not part of the CommCell environment, also receive an email with the login credentials to access the share from the Web Console.

Last modified: 6/10/2019 8:30:51 PM