Restore/Recover Options (General)
Use this dialog box to control how the specified data is to be restored/recovered. This dialog box is also used for selecting options related to scheduled or non-scheduled search and restore/recover operations. Note that all the options described in this help may not be available and only the options displayed in the dialog box are applicable to the component installed on the client.
Restore/Recover ACLs (Only) - Windows
Specifies that the backed up Access Control Lists (ACLs) will be applied to files that have been restored without their ACLs, or to the existing files at the restore destination. Clear this option to restore without ACLs and consequently the data assumes the ACLs of the parent directory.
Unconditionally Overwrite Only if Target is a Data Archiver Stub
If selected, then stubs of files that have been archived will be overwritten during a browse and restore operation. This selection will ensure that only the archived data is overwritten during a restore operation.
Restore Data Only - Windows
Specifies that the files will be restored without their original ACLs. Files and folders will inherit the permissions of their parent folder or drive.
Restore Both Data and ACLs - Windows
Specifies that all data will be restored with its original access control lists (i.e., ACL) and therefore its original security attributes. attributes.Overwrite
- Overwrite if file on media is newer
If selected, this option will overwrite the existing file with the file that was backed up/archived to the media provided the backed up/archived file is newer than the existing file.
- Unconditional Overwrite
Specifies whether the restored data is unconditionally written to the specified location.
- Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is as old or older are not restored.
- Files/directories whose names are the same as those in the restore path and where the backed up data is newer are restored.
- Files/directories whose names are different from those in the restore path are restored.
Avoid using this option whenever you run a Restore by Jobs. Otherwise, an older version of the files might be retrieved.
- Restore only if target exists
If selected, this option will only restore files that currently exist in the restore path. Files that exist on the media but not in the restore path will not be restored.
Restore Data Instead of Stub
If selected this option will restore the backed up data which may be stubbed.
Recreate Mount Points
Selection of this check box allows for the creation of Mount Points.
Restore only if Target is a DataArchive Stub
Specifies whether a DataArchiver stub will be unconditionally overwritten during recovery.
Displays the name of the client computer to which the selected data will be restored. To change the destination computer, select one from the list. The list includes the following clients:
- Clients which are established as clients within the CommCell.
- Clients with operating systems that support the cross-platform restore operation from this client. (Refer to the topic titled Cross Platform Restore Operations in Books Online for additional information.)
By default, data is restored to the same computer from which it was backed up.
- Number of Streams
Specifies the recommended number of simultaneous data streams to use for the restore job.
Note: The actual number of streams used depends on the restore data set and the number of streams used to back up data.
- Use Multiple Nodes
Specifies whether multiple nodes will be used for the restore job. Use multi-node restores only when you want to perform restores to distributed or network file systems such as NFS and CIFS mounted across multiple machines. Click Advanced, and then on the Advanced Restore Options - Data Access Nodes tab, select the nodes for the restore job.
Note: The destination volume must be shared across all the restore nodes and it must be accessible from all the nodes.
- Restore/Recover to same folder
Specifies whether the restore operation will restore data to the same folder from which it was backed up in the Destination client. (Clear this option to restore to a different folder.)
To configure a prompt for user confirmation if you select the overwrite options and perform an in-place restore by selecting this option, create the bEnableConfirmMessageForRestoreToSameFolderWithOverwrite additional setting on the client computer and set the value to true.
For instructions on adding the additional settings from the CommCell Console, see Add or Modify an Additional Setting.
- Specify destination path
Use this space to enter or browse the path on the destination computer to which the data will be restored. If the specified path does not exist, it will be created during the restore process.On Windows computers, UNC path of a shared drive can be specified. (e.g., \\servername\sharename\directory). Click the Advanced button and enter the Windows logon information for this shared drive in the Advanced Restore Options dialog box.
Click to select a path for the Destination folder.
Preserve Source Paths
Specifies the action taken when the data is restored to another destination. The options are available only when the Restore to Same Paths option is cleared.
Preserve n levels from end of source path
When selected, the restore operation must retain the specified number of location levels at the end of the source path for the selected data.
For example, the source path Documents\Memos\Sales has three location levels. If this option is set to 1, then only the final location level, Sales, is retained. Therefore, if the restore destination folder is called temp, the data is restored as \temp\Sales.
Note: If this option is used to restore a file in a path that contains any valid wildcard expression, for example, Documents\**\Sales, then the default value of 1 for the option cannot be changed. Therefore, only the last found occurrence of the file is restored, and the restores for all the other occurrences of the file are overwritten.
Remove n levels from beginning of source path
When selected, the restore operation must remove the specified number of location levels from the beginning of the source path for the selected data.
For example, the source path Documents\Memos\Sales has three location levels. If this option is set to 1, then the first location level, Documents, is removed. Therefore, if the restore destination folder is called temp, then the data is restored as temp\Memos\Sales.
This option becomes available only when the Restore to Same Paths option is cleared.
Click to select additional restore options.
Virtual Server iDataAgent
- Restore As (Disk-Level Restore)
Select this option to restore the selected content as an entire virtual machine.
Select this option to restore the selected content as a container file.
- Restore As (Volume-Level Restore) (VMware Only)
Select this option to restore the selected content as a complete physical volume.
Select this option to restore the selected content as an entire virtual machine disk file.
Select this option to restore the selected content as a virtual hard disk file.
- Virtual Machine Restore Options (VMware Only)
The name of the virtual machine to be recovered.
The name of the server to which the data will be recovered. The name entered in this field depends on the which of the following options are selected:
- Virtual Center
If selected, the Server Name field must include the name of the Virtual Center.
- Virtual Center ESX Server Name
The name of the ESX Server in the Virtual Center.
- ESX Server
If selected, the Server Name field must include the name of the ESX Server.
- Virtual Center
Use this section to enter the credentials for the server selected in the Virtual Machine Restore Options section.
The user account that will be used to access the operating system, application, or network path.
Use the space to type the password for the User Account.
Use the space to re-type the password for confirmation.
Save As Script
Click to open the Save As Script dialog box, which allows you to save this operation and the selected options as a script file (in XML format). The script can later be run from the Command Line Interface using
qoperation execute command.
When you save an operation as a script, each option in the dialog box has a corresponding XML element in the script file. When you run the script, you can modify the value in any of these XML elements.
Last modified: 3/5/2019 9:31:07 PM