Loading...

Predefined Workflow - Modify Encryption Settings For All Clients

The Modify Client Encryption Settings is a predefined workflow that allows you to modify the encryption settings of all clients.

Procedure

  1. From the CommCell Browser, go to Workflows.
  2. Download the workflow Modify Encryption Settings For All Clients from the Commvault Store by following the instructions in Download Workflows from Commvault Store.
  3. Right-click Modify Encryption Settings For All Clients, and then click All Tasks > Deploy to deploy the workflow
  4. Right-click Modify Encryption Settings For All Clients again, and then click All Tasks > Execute to run the workflow.

    The Modify Encryption Settings For All Clients Options dialog box appears.

  5. From the Run workflow on list, select the workflow engine to use to execute the workflow.

    If you select Any, the workflow engine with the latest deployed version of the workflow is used.

  6. The checkboxes for the options Skip clients which are set to "Use Storage Policy Settings" and Skip clients which are set to "Encrypt" are selected by default.

    Unless you are certain that these options are not preferred, leave the default settings.

  7. From the Exclude Clients list, you can select the clients you want to exclude from modifying the encryption settings.
  8. Select one of the following options under Encryption:
    • Use Storage Policy Settings: Select this option to encrypt data according to the settings in the storage policy copy.

      Note: This option is applicable for non NAS clients.

    • Encrypt: Select this option to use specific encryption type to encrypt data.
    • Do not encrypt: Select this option to transfer the data without encryption.
  9. Select one of the following options under Subclient Encryption:
    • None: Select this option to disable encryption on the subclients within the selected client.
    • Media Only (Media Agent Side): Select this option to transmit the backup data without encryption and then encrypt the data prior to storage. During restore operation, the client decrypts the data.
    • Network and Media (Agent Side): Select this option to encrypt the backup data before transmission and then store the encrypted data on the media. During restore operations, the client decrypts the data.

      This is the default option.

    • Network Only (Agent Encrypts, Media Agent Decrypts): Select this option to encrypt the backup data for transmission and then decrypt the data prior to storage on the media. During restore operations, the MediaAgent encrypts the data and then the client decrypts the data.
  10. Click OK.
  11. If you selected Encrypt option for client data encryption, then the Encryption Details dialog box appears.
  12. In the Encryption Details dialog box, enter the following information:
    • Cipher and key length: Select appropriate encryption algorithm and key length.
    • Direct Media Access(External Restore Tools): Select one of the following options.
      • Via Media Password: Select this option to enable the encryption keys store on the media.
      • No Access: Select this option to disable the encryption keys store on the media.
  13. Click OK.

    The Summary window appears.

  14. Click OK.

Last modified: 11/27/2018 8:36:51 AM