Loading...

Retention Options for Deleted Files: Transitioning from a Previous Version

The retention options now more accurately represent the subclient retention based on storage policy copy retention. While the labels for the options have changed, the functionality remains the same. The following table lists the retention behavior that resulted from each previous selection, showing how it affected file retention. To compare this to the newly available settings, see Retention Options for Deleted Files.

Retention Options in the Previous Version

Retention Options in the Current Version

Backup retention

Object Based Retention

After deletion keep items for n years n months and n days

In the Deleted item retention area, retain objects for n years n months and n days

After deletion keep items indefinitely

In the Deleted item retention area, retain items indefinitely

Result

When a synthetic full backup is run, the subclient retention policy applies to the deleted or moved files.

Last modified: 6/11/2018 4:38:15 PM