Loading...

Creating a Blackout Window

You can define a blackout window, at the system level and at the server group level, to prevent operations from running during certain time periods. By default, backup operations in the CommCell environment run for 24 hours without restriction.

When blackout windows are configured, operations that would normally start within the blackout window go into a queued state. After the blackout window ends, the queued operations resume automatically.

Note: If you have blackout windows defined at the server group level and at the system level, then both blackout windows apply to the server group. For example, if the system blackout window is Thursdays and the server group blackout window is Sundays, then backup jobs for the server group do not run on Thursdays and on Sundays.

Procedure

  1. Choose the level where you want to add the blackout window:

    Level

    Procedure

    System

    1. From the navigation pane, go to Manage > System.

      The System page appears.

    2. Click the Blackout window tile.

      The Blackout window page appears.

    3. Click Add.

    Server group

    1. From the navigation pane, go to Manage > Server groups.

      The Server groups page appears.

    2. Click the server group.

      The server group properties page appears.

    3. In the Blackout window section, click Add.

      The Blackout window dialog box appears.

  2. In the Name box, enter a name for the blackout window.
  3. In a multi-tenant environment, to create the blackout window for a specific company, from the Create for company list, select the company.

    Note: The Create for company list is available only in multi-tenant environments, and only at the system level.

  4. For Backup operations, select the backup types to include in the blackout window.
  5. Under Do not run job, select the days, weeks, and times to include in the blackout window.
  6. To enable the blackout window for dates, move the Between these dates toggle key to the right, and then enter dates in the Start date and End date boxes.
  7. To skip the jobs that are scheduled to run during the blackout window, instead of putting them into a queued state, move the Do not submit job toggle key to the right.
  8. Click Save.

Last modified: 11/30/2020 7:28:02 PM