Loading...

Restoring Full Virtual Machines for Hyper-V

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, in the row for the VM group, click the action button action_button , and then click Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, in the upper-right corner of the page, from the Select source list, select the copy.

    If you select Automatic (default), the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full virtual machine to restore one or more full virtual machines.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Expand the tree on the left and select the objects to be restored on the right. Select an item or click on an entry in the Name column to browse within an item.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
    • Show backups for a date range: Only display data within the data range you specify.
  7. Click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Provide the requested information:
    • Destination: To restore to a different cluster, select the virtualization client for the cluster from the list.
    • Destination client: Select the target host from the list.

      All Hyper-V nodes are displayed.

    • Disk provisioning: Select one of the following options:
      • Original: (default) Use the same disk provisioning that the source virtual machine used at the time of backup.
      • Fixed: Allocate disk space for all disks. A fixed virtual disk has reserved storage that is the same size as the virtual disk itself.
      • Dynamic: Allocate disk space for all disks. Dynamic disk storage is not reserved and is allocated as needed during runtime. This allows for storage over commitment under the assumption that most disks are not fully utilized and storage capacity can be utilized better.
    • Default restore location: Select one of the following options:
      • Original folder
      • Select a folder
      • Hyper-V default folder
    • VM display name: Type a new virtual machine name in the box.

      This option does not display if you are restoring multiple VMs. If an existing VM with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Overwrite VMs if they already exist, the restore job fails.

    • Destination folder: Select a new folder from the list.
    • Network adapter: Select an available network adapter from the list.

      By default, the network adapter of the original VM is selected automatically if the same network adapter is available on the Hyper-V Server.

      If you select Not Connected, the virtual machine is restored without a network connection.

    • Power on VMs after restore: Start the VM automatically when the restore completes.
    • Overwrite VMs if they already exist: Delete an existing virtual machine that has the same name and replace it with the restored VM.
    • Register virtual machine with failover cluster: Enable the restored VM to migrate to another node in the cluster.
  9. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 3/7/2020 10:41:31 PM