Loading...

Restoring Full Instances for OpenStack

You can restore instances or images to the original location or to a different location. By default, an instance is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

Restore Considerations

  • If the OS disk was filtered from the backup of an instance, the base image that the instance was based on must be available for the instance to be restored.
  • If an instance or image is added to VM group content or to a filter by browsing and selecting the display name, discovery is performed based on the GUID for the instance or image. If that instance or image is later restored in place from a backup, a new GUID is generated, and that instance or image is no longer identified correctly. To identify that instance or image, you must remove the old rule, then add a new rule or use a name pattern to select the instance or image.
  • If the user specified for the virtualization client does not have permission to create or delete network ports, the restore fails with error "Failed to create port with request".
  • When restoring public images for a project, the user performing the restore should have the Admin role for that project. When a user only has the Member role for a project, that user does not have permission to create public images and can only restore an image as a private image. In that situation, an Admin user could later make the restored image public.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, in the row for the VM group, click the action button action_button , and then click Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, in the upper-right corner of the page, from the Select source list, select the copy.

    If you select Automatic (default), the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full instance to restore a full instance.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Expand the tree on the left and select the objects to be restored on the right. Select an item or click on an entry in the Name column to browse within an item.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
    • Show backups for a date range: Only display data within the data range you specify.
  7. Click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Provide the requested information:
    • Access node: (Optional) By default, the preferred VSA proxy for the hypervisor is used for the restore. You can select a different proxy from the list.
    • Destination: To restore to a hypervisor, select the virtualization client for the cluster from the list.
    • If you are restoring multiple instances, click the All Instances tab on the bottom left to specify configuration values for all instances you are restoring, or the name of each instance to specify values individually. Specify the following values:
      • Instance name: (Optional) To change the name of an individual instance, select the instance and then enter the new display name in the box.

        If an existing instance with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists, the restore job fails.

      • Enable edit destination instance name: (Optional) When restoring multiple instances, to change the names of destination instances, select this option, select Prefix or Suffix, and then enter a string to be appended to the original display name to create new destination instance names.
      • Availability zone: Browse the defined availability zones and select a host.
      • Volume type: Select a volume type that is defined for the zone of the source volumes.
      • Flavor: Select a flavor that is at or above the original configuration.
      • Security group: Select a predefined security group that defines the required network access.
      • Key pair: Select a key pair that identifies the ownership for the converted instance.
      • Network interface: Select a network interface that is available in the destination.
    • Power on instances after restore: (Optional) Start the instance automatically when the restore completes.
    • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: (Optional) Delete an existing instance that has the same name, and replace it with the restored instance.
  9. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 3/7/2020 11:13:53 PM