Loading...

Restoring Full Instances for Google Cloud Platform

You can restore one or more instances at a time. Instances can be restored in place (overwriting the source instances) or out of place with a different instance name, or to a different Google Cloud Platform (GCP) service account.

Notes

  • If an instance is added to VM group content or to a filter by browsing and selecting the instance display name, discovery is performed based on the GUID for the instance. If that instance is later restored in place from a backup, a new GUID is generated, and that instance is no longer identified correctly. To identify that instance, you must remove the old rule, then add a new rule or use a name pattern to select the instance.
  • For in-place and out-of-place restores, the use of shared virtual private cloud (VPC) networks is supported.
  • During backup operations, if a GCP instance is powered off, that instance does not indicate whether it has an external IP address. Therefore, the Commvault software cannot flag the instance as having an external IP address in the backup operation. If you then restore this instance, after the restore operation is complete, you must manually assign an external IP address for the instance using the GCP portal.

Before You Begin

  • To restore an instance to a different GCP service account, a virtualization client for the service count must exist.
  • When restoring out of place, you must specify the destination zone, machine type, and network settings.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears.

  3. In the VM groups area, in the row for the VM group, click the action button action_button , and then click Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, in the upper-right corner of the page, from the Select source list, select the copy.

    If you select Automatic (default), the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full instance to restore a complete instance to GCP.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Select the objects to be restored. Select an item or click on an entry in the Name column to browse within an item.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
    • Show backups for a date range: Only display data within the data range you specify.
  7. Click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Provide the requested information:
    • Type: Select one of the following options:
      • In place: Restore to the original location.

        To avoid overwriting the original source instance, edit the instance display name for an in-place restore.

      • Out of place: Restore to a different location (with a different instance name, or to a different GCP service account).
    • Destination: To restore to a different GCP deployment, select the hypervisor from the list.
    • Access node: To use a different proxy for the restore, select it from the list.
    • When restoring out of place, you must specify the following:
      • Instance display name: (when restoring a single instance) Type a new instance name to be used for the restored instance.
      • All VMs: (when restoring multiple instances) Select a specific instance from the list so that you can type a new instance name to be used for the restored instance.
      • Zone: Click Browse to select the destination zone for the out-of-place restore.
      • Machine type: Select the machine type for the out-of-place restore.
      • External IP: By default, this option is enabled. Clear the check box to disable.
      • Network Interface: Select the network settings.
    • Power on VMs after restore: Select this option to start restored VMs automatically.
    • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: To delete an existing instance and replace it with the restored instance, select this option.

      Note: If an existing instance with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists, the restore job fails.

  9. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 1/8/2021 7:46:48 PM