Loading...

Restoring Full VMs for Microsoft Azure Stack

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

Before You Begin

You can backup virtual machines configured with Azure Stack unmanaged and managed disks. From these backups, you can restore full virtual machines and restore guest files and folders.

For restoring VMs from IntelliSnap backups: When executing a restore of a full VM configured with Azure Stack managed disks, because of a Microsoft Azure limitation, you can only restore the VM to the same Azure Region where the snapshot was created (the source of the snap copy used to restore the VM).

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, click Solutions > Virtualization > Hypervisors.

    The Hypervisors page appears.

  2. Click the name of the hypervisor that hosts the virtual machines.

    The hypervisor details page appears. The Subclients area displays summary information for any existing subclients.

  3. In the Subclients area, click Restore for the subclient that contains the virtual machine.
  4. In the Select restore type page, select Full virtual machine to restore one or more full virtual machines.
  5. In the Restore page, expand the tree on the left and select the objects to be restored on the right. Select an item or click on an entry in the Name column to browse within an item.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
  6. Click Restore.
  7. In the Restore options dialog box, provide the requested information:
    1. The Azure subscription list displays the hypervisor for the Azure Stack subscription. Select the Azure Stack subscription client for the restore operation.
    2. Select Power on VMs after restore to start the VM automatically.
    3. To delete an existing virtual machine and replace it with the restored VM, select Overwrite VMs if they already exist.
    4. If you are restoring multiple VMs, click the All VMs tab on the bottom left to specify configuration values for all VMs you are restoring, or the name of each VM to specify values individually. Specify the following values:
      • Optional: To change the names of destination VMs, select Enable edit destination VM name.
      • Optional: When restoring multiple VMs, select Prefix or Suffix and enter a string to be appended to the original display name to create new destination VM names.
      • Optional: To change the name of an individual VM, enter the new display name in the Change VM display name to box.
      • Enter a name in the Resource group box to specify the Resource Group for the restored VM.
      • For Storage account, select the storage account for a virtual machine or disk.

        You can specify any storage account in the same region as the selected cloud service (Classic) or resource group (ARM).

      • For VM size, select a size specification for the restored virtual machine.
      • For Restore as a managed VM, if the source VM is a managed VM, select this check box to restore the VM as managed VM.

        When you select this option, the restore operation creates virtual machine disks in the specified storage account, and then converts them to managed disks and attaches the disks to the restored virtual machine.

      • For Network interface, select a network connection for the restored VM, or leave the default value of Auto Select.
      • If a public IP address is not required on restored VMs, clear the Create Public IP check box.
      • For Security Group, specify a network security group for the restored VM or leave the default value of Auto Select.
  8. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 5/17/2019 7:28:02 PM