Loading...

Restoring Full Instances for Amazon

You can restore instances to the original location or to a different location. By default, an instance is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

For Service Pack 13 and later, when you perform an in-place restore operation using the Overwrite instances if they already exist option, the restore operation retains the original UUID for the restored instance instead of recreating the instance from backup data.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, click Solutions > Virtualization > Hypervisors.

    The Hypervisors page appears.

  2. Click the name of the hypervisor that hosts the instances.

    The hypervisor details page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, click Restore for the VM group that contains the instance.
  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, choose the copy from the Select source list in the upper-right corner of the page.

    If you select No copy precedence(automatic selection), the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full instance to restore a full instance.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Expand the tree on the left and select the objects to be restored on the right. Select an item or click on an entry in the Name column to browse within an item.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
    • Show backups for a date range: Only display data within the data range you specify.
  7. Click Restore.
  8. In the Restore options dialog box, provide the requested information:
    1. To restore to a hypervisor, select the virtualization client for the cluster from the Destination Client list.
    2. Optional: By default, the preferred VSA proxy for the hypervisor is used for the restore.

      If you select a proxy that is outside of Amazon, the restore uploads volume information to S3 and uses the volumes to create the instance.

    3. Only required if you chose a proxy that is not an Amazon instance: From the Amazon buckets list, select a bucket for the instance volumes. Buckets are logical containers that provide secure access to objects (such as instance volumes).
    4. Optional: Select Power on instance after restore (the default) to start the instance automatically.
    5. Optional: To delete an existing instance and replace it with the restored instance, select Overwrite instances if they already exist.
    6. If you are restoring multiple instances, click the All Instances tab on the bottom left to specify configuration values for all instances you are restoring, or the name of each instance to specify values individually. Specify the following values:
      • Optional: To change the names of destination instances, select Enable edit destination instance name.
      • Optional: When restoring multiple instances, select Prefix or Suffix and enter a string to be appended to the original display name to create new destination instance names.
      • Optional: To change the name of an individual instance, select the instance and then enter the new display name in the Change instance display name to box.

        If an existing instance with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Overwrite instances if they already exist, the restore job fails.

      • Click Browse to select a value for the Availability zone.
      • From the Instance type list, select an instance type that provides the available CPU cores and memory for the instance.
      • For the Network setting, click Browse to select an EC2 or a VPC network for the restored instances.
      • From the Security groups list, select a security group for the specified network.
  9. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 9/25/2018 4:21:01 PM