Loading...

Restoring Full VMs for Azure

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, click Solutions > Virtualization > Hypervisors.

    The Hypervisors page appears.

  2. Click the name of the hypervisor that hosts the virtual machines.

    The hypervisor details page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, click Restore for the VM group that contains the virtual machine.
  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, choose the copy from the Select source list in the upper-right corner of the page.

    If you select No copy precedence(automatic selection), the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full virtual machine to restore one or more full virtual machines.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Expand the tree on the left and select the objects to be restored on the right. Select an item or click on an entry in the Name column to browse within an item.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
  7. Click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Specify the requested information:
    1. The Azure subscription list displays the hypervisor for the Azure subscription. Select the Azure subscription client for the restore operation. The subscription type of the virtualization client (Classic or Azure Resource Manager) must match the type of the client for the source VM..
    2. Select Power on VMs after restore to start the VM automatically.
    3. To delete an existing virtual machine and replace it with the restored VM, select Overwrite VMs if they already exist.
    4. If you are restoring multiple VMs, click the All VMs tab on the bottom left to specify configuration values for all VMs you are restoring, or the name of each VM to specify values individually. Specify the following values:
      • Optional: To change the names of destination VMs, select Enable edit destination VM name.
      • Optional: When restoring multiple VMs, select Prefix or Suffix and enter a string to be appended to the original display name to create new destination VM names.
      • Optional: To change the name of an individual VM, enter the new display name in the Change VM display name to box.
      • Azure Classic only: Enter a name in the Cloud service box to specify the Cloud Services group for the restored VM.
      • Azure Resource Manager only: Enter a name in the Resource group box to specify the Resource Group for the restored VM.
      • For Storage account, select the storage account for a virtual machine or disk.

        You can specify any storage account in the same region as the selected cloud service (Classic) or resource group (ARM).

      • For VM size, select a size specification for the restored virtual machine.
      • For Network interface, select a network connection for the restored VM, or leave the default value of Auto Select.
      • Azure Resource Manager only: If a public IP address is not required on restored VMs, clear the Create Public IP checkbox.
      • Azure Resource Manager only: For Security Group, specify a network security group for the restored VM or leave the default value of Auto Select.
      • Azure Resource Manager only: If the source VM contained managed disks, select the Restore as a managed VM check box to restore virtual machines as managed virtual machines.

        When you select this option, the restore operation creates virtual machine disks in the specified storage account, and then converts them to managed disks and attaches the disks to the restored virtual machine.

  9. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 10/23/2018 7:19:32 PM