Loading...

Restoring Full Virtual Machines for Hyper-V

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, click Solutions > Virtualization > Hypervisors.

    The Hypervisors page appears.

  2. Click the name of the hypervisor that hosts the virtual machines.

    The hypervisor details page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, click Restore for the VM group that contains the virtual machine.
  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, choose the copy from the Select source list in the upper-right corner of the page.

    If you select No copy precedence(automatic selection), the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full virtual machine to restore one or more full virtual machines.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Expand the tree on the left and select the objects to be restored on the right. Select an item or click on an entry in the Name column to browse within an item.

    In the top right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is being displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Only display data for the most recent backups.
    • Show backups as of a specific date: Only display data up to the date you specify.
    • Show backups for a date range: Only display data within the data range you specify.
  7. Click Restore.
  8. In the Restore options dialog box, provide the requested information:
    1. To restore to a different cluster, select the virtualization client for the cluster from the Virtualization Client list.
    2. Select the target host from the Destination Client list.

      All Hyper-V nodes are displayed.

    3. Select Power on VMs after restore to start the VM automatically.
    4. To delete an existing virtual machine and replace it with the restored VM, select Overwrite VMs if they already exist.
    5. Select Register virtual machine with failover cluster to enable the restored VM to migrate to another node in the cluster.
    6. For Restore location, leave the default (Original folder), choose Select a folder, or select Hyper-V default folder.
    7. Type a new virtual machine name in the Change VM display name to box.

      This option does not display if you are restoring multiple VMs. If an existing VM with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Overwrite VMs if they already exist, the restore job fails.

    8. For Destination folder, click Browse to select a new folder from the list. (Only enabled if you chose Select a folder.)
  9. Click Submit to run the restore job.

Last modified: 9/25/2018 4:27:44 PM