Loading...

Deleting Backed Up Messages Using Exchange Mailbox End-User Delete

With Exchange Mailbox End-User Delete, you can delete backed up messages from secondary storage in the following ways:

For example, if your administrator has enabled Exchange Mailbox Backup Quota, you might receive a warning or an alert message that tells you that your mailbox is near or over its limit. In this case, you can use Exchange Mailbox End-User Delete to delete backed up messages from your mailbox so that you do not exceed the your message quota. You can view your quota and quota and the amount of space that your backed up messages have consumed using the Web Console. If you are approaching or if you exceed your quota, use End-User Delete to delete backed up messages and to keep the amount of backed up messages within the quota limits that are set by your administrator.

Before You Begin

End-User Delete must be enabled by your administrator.

Procedure

  1. Depending on how End-User Delete is configured for you, do either of the following:
    • Log on to the Web Console.
    • Open Microsoft Outlook, and then click the shortcut folder to the Web Console.

      The Web Console opens within Microsoft Outlook.

  2. Click My Data.
  3. Click the Mail tab.
  4. Click the Display Name link for the appropriate user.

    The Restore Mail page appears.

  5. In the left pane, select the folder that contains the messages that you want to view.

    The messages that were backed up for the selected folder appear in the right pane.

  6. Select one or several messages, and then delete them.

    A message appears that states that selected messages will be deleted permanently.

  7. Click Yes.

Last modified: 4/16/2018 8:43:57 PM