Loading...

Committing a Backup Job for Virtual Server Agents

Administrators can use the Kill option to commit a backup job for a subclient that protects multiple virtual machines. You can browse and restore backup data that is committed without waiting for other VMs in the job to complete. All virtual machine backups that are not complete are marked as failed so that those virtual machines can be protected when a subsequent incremental job is run.

To automatically terminate and commit a backup job, set the total running time for an individual backup job or use schedule policies for Virtual Server Agent backup jobs. For more information, see Setting the Total Running Time for Jobs.

To be eligible to be committed, the backup job must meet the following conditions:

  • The back up job must be a regular streaming backup job. The following types of backup jobs are not committed when they are terminated: synthetic full backups, IntelliSnap backups, backup copy, or catalog snapshot jobs.
  • The backup job must be running and at least one full virtual machine must be complete.

Procedure

  1. From the CommCell Console ribbon, on the Home tab, click Job Controller.

    The Job Controller window is displayed.

  2. Right-click a backup job and click Kill.
  3. To complete the commit request, click Yes.

Important: Allow the backup job to complete after the Kill request. Do not kill the job if it restarts, because a second Kill request interrupts the archive indexing process and causes any committed backup data to be discarded.

Result

When a Kill request is processed and the backup job is eligible, the following actions occur:

  • Any virtual machine backups that have completed successfully are retained, and the current index for the job is archived so that backed up VMs can be browsed for restore operations.
  • The backup job status changes to Archiving Index, and the index cache is updated for virtual machines that were successfully backed up.
  • Any virtual machines that were successfully backed up are marked as Completed in the Job Details window for the job.
  • Any virtual machines for which backups were pending or in progress are marked as Failed, so that those virtual machines can be protected when a subsequent incremental job is run.
  • When the job completes, it is marked as Completed with errors in the Job Controller window.
  • On the Backup History window, the job status is Committed.

Last modified: 4/30/2018 8:13:03 PM