Loading...

Getting Started with Sync Folders

Prerequisites

  • Users must have two or more computers configured as laptop clients.
  • To enable/manage Sync Folders, users must be client owners with Browse (or End-User Access), In Place Recover, and Out of Place Recover permissions. Also, to synchronize data not included in the File System backup content of a client, the user must have the Agent Management permission.

    Check with your Administrator to have these permissions enabled.

Enabling Preconfigured Sync Folders

Your documents and pictures are automatically configured for two-way synchronization between your computers.

Use the following steps to start synchronizing your documents and picture files.

  1. From the Web Console, go to My Data.
  2. Click the Sync tab.
  3. Under Sync Folders, set the Actions switch to ON for the Documents Sync folder.
  4. Click Yes to confirm that you want to start the synchronization.

    The Sync Folder starts synchronizing the documents on your computers.

    If you are redirected to the Sync Folder configuration page, it means that one of your computers does not have a user assigned. In this scenario, do the following:

    1. Click Assign User and specify a valid user account in the editable box.

      Note: For Macintosh and UNIX computers, selecting the associated user from the list is not supported as part of this feature's Early Release. The user account must be specified in the editable box without the computer name or domain name. For example, you should enter userAccount, and not domainName\userAccount or computerName\userAccount.

    2. Click Save.
  5. Follow the above steps for enabling the Pictures Sync Folder.

Adding a New Sync Folder

Use the following steps to create a new Sync folder.

  1. From the Web Console, go to My Data.
  2. Click the Sync tab.
  3. Under Sync Folders, click Add Sync Folder.
  4. Type the name of the Sync folder in the box located at the top of the page. The name can be any name  you choose, but we recommend using the name of the folder you want to synchronize.

    Under the Computers section, all of your computers are associated with the new Sync folder. If you want to exclude a computer, set the switch on the right side to OFF. For example, in the image below, a Macintosh computer is excluded from synchronization.

  5. In the Sync Folder Path box of one of the computers, enter the path to the folder/directory that you want to synchronize. You can also click the folder icon next to the box to browse for the folder.

    Once the path is provided for the first computer, it is replicated on all the other computers. This occurs during the configuration of the first computer. This is useful if the folder path is the same across your other computers. If the folder path is different on the other participating computers, you can edit the contents of the Sync Folder Path box respectively.

    Note:

    • If the Sync Folder Path box is grayed out, it means that you do not have the Agent Management capability. You can select only a folder that has been backed up. Talk to your Administrator to have this capability enabled.
    • If you have Windows and Linux/Macintosh computers associated with the Sync Folder:
      • On Linux/Macintosh computers, ensure that you have all of the permissions for the destination folder, where the data is restored during the synchronization process.
      • The security properties of the data that is restored from Windows to Linux/Macintosh computers during the synchronization process changes to 777.
  6. To specify the remaining synchronization options for this computer, click More located on the right side.
  7. Select the Sync mode that you want to use:
    • Two-Way Sync

      Use this option to configure the computer with bidirectional synchronization. For example, if a new file is created on this computer, it is pushed to the other computers. In addition, new files that are created on other computers are also pushed to this computer.

    • One-Way Sync to other computers

      Use this option to copy only the files from this computer to the other computers. For example, if a new file is created on this computer, it is pushed to the other computers. However, new files that are created on other computers are not pushed to this computer.

    • One-Way Sync from other computers

      Use this option to copy only the files from other computers to this computer. For example, if files are created on the other computers, they are pushed to this computer. However, files that are created on this computer are not pushed to other computers.

  8. By default, the associated user is automatically set to your Web Console login user name if it matches the computer account name.

    If the associated user is Unassigned, click Assign User and select from the list of users that appear. You can also specify the user account in the editable box.

    Note: For Macintosh and UNIX computers, selecting the associated user from the list is not supported as part of this feature's Early Release. The user account must be specified in the editable box without the computer name or domain name. For example, you should enter userAccount, and not domainName\userAccount or computerName\userAccount.

  9. Repeat the steps above for every computer participating in the Sync configuration.
  10. Once all computers are configured, click Save. The Sync folder is created and then you are redirected to the My Data page.

    The Sync Folder that you created appears in the Sync Folders section.

    The Sync Status for the new folder shows as In Progress. This means that the folder path that you specified for each computer has been added to the backup content of the corresponding computer, and that this content is currently being backed up. The backup data is restored later depending on the synchronization mode that you selected during configuration.

Last modified: 8/30/2018 3:17:12 PM