V11 SP8
Loading...

Data Analytics - Frequently Asked Questions

Table of Contents

Can I run Data Analytics on an upgraded MediaAgent?

Yes, you can configure the Analytics Engine and run analytics on an upgraded MediaAgent.

When does information collected for Data Analytics reports get pruned from the Analytics Engine?

By default, the data collected for Data Analytics reports that are stored in the index cache of the Analytics Engine are pruned every 30 days. Data Analytics jobs are also pruned when:

  • an associated storage policy is deleted
  • an associated subclient is deleted
  • an associated backup job is deleted or aged according to the retention settings

When Data Analytics jobs are pruned, the associated Data Analytics reports are also removed from the Web Console.

What happens if the Analytics Engine is not available?

If the Analytics Engine is not available, the Data Analytics reports will not be accessible from the Web Console. If the reports are accessed when the Analytics Engine is not available, an error message appears.

What happens if I deconfigure or uninstall a MediaAgent?

If you deconfigure or uninstall a MediaAgent that is configured with the Analytics Engine, all associated Data Analytics reports will be deleted.

What happens if I deconfigure and reconfigure the Analytics Engine?

When an Analytics Engine is deconfigured, all associated Data Analytics reports are deleted. If you reconfigure the Analytics Engine,  you must also run an analytics job before any Data Analytics reports can be viewed from the Web Console.

What happens if I associate a subclient to a different Storage Policy?

Note: Running analytics jobs from a storage policy is no longer supported. The following information only applies to existing analytics data.

If a subclient is associated with a different Storage Policy, data information from the subclient will be deleted from all Data Analytics reports created with the old Storage Policy. To view Data Analytics information for the subclient, you must run analytics from the client or client group.

What happens if I delete a subclient or Storage Policy?

Note: Running analytics jobs from a storage policy is no longer supported. The following information only applies to existing analytics data.

If a subclient or Storage Policy is deleted, data information from the subclient or Storage Policy will also be deleted from all associated Data Analytics reports.