Deduplication - Silo Options
Use this dialog box to configure the Silo storage options.
Remove DDB when the silo store is sealed
The Remove DDB when the silo store is sealed option replaces the Archive Sealed DDB option that was available in version 9 and earlier. If you create the Silo storage copy in version 9 or earlier, and then upgrade your CommServe® system, the deduplication database is removed and not archived regardless of what version of the software is installed on your MediaAgents. The change in behavior from archiving to removing the deduplication database occurs automatically when you upgrade your CommServe system.
Number of Silos to be kept in cache
Use this option to retain the number of most recently backed up silos (of active and sealed DDB) in the disk library (local cache). This eliminates the need to restore the data from the tape to the disk library.
The number of silos to be retained corresponds to the silos of active and sealed DDB that have been backed up to the tape. For example, if you set the value to 3, the currently active silo and two recently sealed silos would be retained in the local cache.
Clear the option if you do not want to save any silos in the cache. If the check box is cleared, the active silo will also be removed from the disk library after it has been backed up to tape.
Silo storage space management provides disk cleanup options to automatically reclaim the primary disk space once the data is moved to Silo Storage. Disk space occupied by the deduplicated data can be effectively managed and reclaimed by enabling space management option. Once enabled only the data from the disk media that has been moved to Silo Storage is considered for removal.
The following exceptions apply:
- If a Silo is retained in the local disk cache (as described in Number of Silos to be kept in cache), it will not be considered for removal until the number of silos to be kept in cache is exceeded.
- If the source copy of the Silo copy is configured for Auxiliary Copy, Data Verification, or Offline Content Indexing, then the copy data is not removed until all dependency are fulfilled.
- If the disk space threshold for the mount path containing Silo volumes has not been reached, it will not be considered for removal
During a restore operation, if the backup data is available in the primary copy, it is restored. If the backup data has been moved to Silo storage, then the necessary volume are automatically restored to any mount path on the source copy disk that has sufficient space and the data is made available to complete the initial restore operation. Space Management will subsequently remove this staged data.
Amount of Data Size Moved
The amount of data that is moved to the silo storage from the currently active and sealed silos.
Amount of Data Size to be Moved
The amount of data to be moved to the silo storage from the currently active and sealed silos.
Select MediaAgent for Silo Restores
By default, a MediaAgent with direct access to the tape library containing the silo copy will be used to read data. Select a MediaAgent to use for reading from tape.
Select Destination client for Silo Restores
By default, the MediaAgent with direct access to the disk library from which the volume folders originated will be used to write the data back to disk. Select a MediaAgent to use write to disk.