V11 SP8

License Requirements - Informix iDataAgent

By default, the agent is installed using an Evaluation license. Once the evaluation period is complete, you need to obtain a permanent license from your Software Provider.

You can choose to use one of the following licensing mechanisms:

  • Traditional License, based upon products and features in your CommCell.
  • Capacity License, based on the amount of data you want to protect.

For comprehensive information on licensing, see License Administration.

Traditional License

Agent or Component License Type


Informix on Unix Application Class 2
Informix on Windows Application Class 1

* 1 license for each client. The license is consumed when this component is configured on the client computer.

You need the following additional license for clustered environment:

HP-UX File System Server File System
VERITAS Cluster for HP-UX Cluster Group


Linux File System Server File System
  • Red Hat Linux Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for Linux
Cluster Group


Sun Solaris File System Server File System
  • Solaris Sun Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for Solaris
Cluster Group


IBM AIX File System Server File System
  • IBM PowerHA for AIX (formerly HACMP) Cluster
  • VERITAS Cluster for IBM AIX
Cluster Group


Microsoft Windows File System (Server Class) Server File system
Microsoft Windows File System (Cluster) Cluster Group

Capacity License

If you plan to use capacity licenses, you must obtain the following license:

License Type License Consumption
Backup 1 license per CommCell for n Terabytes (TB) of protected data