V11 SP8
Loading...

Default Subclient Coverage

You can back up instances using the default subclient or create a new subclient to protect a specific subset of instances.

When you create a virtualization client or a backup set, a default subclient is created automatically, and all instances for the virtualization client are automatically included in the default subclient content. This setting ensures that all instances will be included in backup operations.

To prevent duplicate backups of instances, any instances that are included in a user-defined subclient are automatically excluded from the default subclient. (Duplicate backups still occur if an instance is included in multiple user-defined subclients.)

For an Amazon backup set, at least one subclient should be able to cover unprotected instances. If you disable this feature for all subclients, some instances may not be backed up.

When the default subclient is created, the Contents of subclient list in the Content tab displays All unprotected VMs as the content Type. That entry indicates that all instances that are not included in any other subclient in the backup set will automatically be backed up by the default subclient.

To remove the default coverage, you can delete the All unprotected VMs entry.

If you remove all entries from the Contents of subclient list, All unprotected VMs appears in the list again.