V11 SP8
Loading...

Deleting Snapshots

Snapshots can either be deleted using job-based pruning or by deleting from the list of displayed snapshots when browsing snapshots. Data Aging can also be used to define the retention rules and pruning of snapshots.

Notes:

  • Manual deletion of snapshots is not recommended. When a snapshot is deleted, it is no longer possible to perform data recovery operations from the snapshot copy. However, if a backup copy was created from the snapshot, data recovery operations can be performed from the backup copy.
  • Ensure that the snapshot to be deleted is not mounted.

Procedure

  1. From the CommCell Browser, navigate to Client Computers > virtualization_client > Virtual Server > backup_set.
  2. Right-click the subclient and click List Snaps.
  1. Right-click the snapshot to delete.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. Enter the confirmation text string: erase snapshot.
  4. Click OK.