V11 SP8
Loading...

Subclient Properties (Advanced Options)

Use this dialog box to manage the File System Subclient properties.

Synchronize Source files and Backup Index

Select the option to enable the synchronization of data on the source disk and the index. After you enable this option, the subsequent backup job compares the subclient content on the disk to the data on the index, and identifies the files that are missing from the subclient content on the disk and the index. The missing files are then included in the backup job.

A scenario that might result in the discrepancy is a cut and paste operation on a file that does not change the modified time of the file. As a result, when you use the recursive scan method, the file is not selected during the backup operation.

Every n days from the previous backup job

Enter the number of days after which any backup job will run the synchronization job. By default, the synchronization runs after every incremental job that runs after a synthetic full backup.

Catalog additional file and system attributes

Enable collection of file and system data so that you can create a report with the Build-Your-Own Reports feature or run the File Level Analytics Reports.

Catalog ACL (end user access control list)

Applies to: Windows clients

When enabled, ACLs (Access Control Lists) are cataloged. As a result, if End User Access permission is available on the client, users can access only those files and folders for which they have permissions.

When you select or clear the Catalog ACL (end user access control list) option between backup jobs, run a Full backup for the selected option to take effect on the backup data. Conversely, if you run a Differential or Incremental backup after enabling this option, only the newer data will include ACLs.

When cleared, ACLs are not cataloged and therefore not available for use while managing the End User Access during Find, Browse, Restore and Erase Data operations.

Optimized for File system with large number of small files (Block Level Backup)

Specifies the job as a Block Level backup, which backs up the blocks that contain data.

Install block filter driver

If selected, installs the QSnap driver on the client computer that tracks the changes made to the volume. This operation is irreversible and you cannot uninstall the QSnap driver later.

When cleared, all backups are run as Full backups. The first backup job performed is always a Full backup run after you select this option, is always a Full backup.

  • Reboot now

    Select the option to restart the computer immediately.

  • Reboot later

    Select the option to restart the computer later. Note that the all backups run as Full backups until you restart your computer.

Create File Level Index during backup

If selected, the entire file system is scanned and metadata of all of the existing files is collected enabling file-level browse and restores.

Scan using

  • Change Journal

     Select the option when you want to scan New Technology File System (NTFS).

  • Recursive Scan

    Select the option when you want to scan FAT volumes, UNC paths and volumes with no drive letter.

    Preserve File Access Time -Select the option to preserve the file access time during a backup operation. However, the backups are slower after you select this option.

    Check Archive Bit During Backups - By default, the files are considered as modified based on the state of the archive bit. The modified files are selected for backup during the incremental and differential backup. The system resets the Archive bit of every file that it backs up.

    If you clear the check box, files are considered as modified based on the modified time of the file and the system does not reset the Archive bit of every file that it backs up.

  • Optimized Scan

    This is the default scan method. Select this option when you want to scan large number of files and folders for the backup.  The system maintains a separate database to track changes in the files.

Delete Protected PSTs

Applies to: Windows clients

Deletes backed up Personal Storage Table (PST) files from your client computer. The PST files are deleted only if the files were not modified or changed since the last backup job. For more information, see Overview - Archiving Personal Storage Table (PSTs).

Exclude from SLA and Strike Counts
When this option is selected, the subclient is excluded from the SLA (Service Level Agreement) calculation and the Client Strike calculation for the Worldwide Dashboard, CommCell Dashboard, SLA Report, and Client Strike Count Report. When this option is cleared, the subclient is included in these calculations.