Restore Options for All Selected Items (General) - Full Virtual Machine Restore

Use this dialog box to control how full virtual machine are restored. The following options are available when you are restoring a full virtual machine:

Destination client

Displays the name of the Virtual Server Agent proxy computer that will be used to perform the restore operation. By default, the proxy computer that was used to back up the virtual machine is used to restore the virtual machine.

To use a different proxy for restore, select the name of the proxy from the list.

RHEV Manager

Displays the name of the RHEV Manager where the virtual machine is to be restored. To restore to a different RHEV Manager, click Change; then enter the host name for the destination RHEV Manager and provide user credentials. When restoring virtual machines to a different RHEV Manager, provide user credentials for a user account having administrative privileges.

Restore in place

By default, the virtual machine is restored to the same location from which it was backed up. If you want to restore the virtual machine to a new location, clear this check box.

You can change the name and location of the virtual machine as follows:

  • VM and Disk

    This column displays the list of all the virtual machines and disks selected for restore. Expand each virtual machine to view the disks in that virtual machine.

  • Change VM display name to

    This column displays the existing name of each virtual machine. To change the name of any virtual machine, click in the corresponding row and enter the new name.

  • Cluster

    This column displays the cluster each virtual machine. To change the cluster of any virtual machine, click in the corresponding row and click browse; the select the cluster where you want to restore the virtual machine.

  • Storage Domain

    This column displays the storage domain of each disk. To change the storage domain of any disk, click in the corresponding row; then select a storage domain from the list.

    To filter a disk, select Do Not Attach for the row under the Storage Domain column that shows the disk.

Virtual Machine Configuration

  • Power ON Virtual Machine after Restore

    Select this option to power on the virtual machine after the restore completes.

  • Unconditionally overwrite VM with the same name

    Select this option to overwrite an existing virtual machine with the same name. If you do not select this option when restoring a virtual machine to a location that has a VM with the same name, the restore fails.

Advanced

Click this button to configure advanced restore options.

Save As Script

Click to open the Save As Script dialog, which allows you to save this operation and the selected options as a script file (in XML format). The script can later be executed from the Command Line Interface using qoperation execute command.

When you save an operation as a script, each option in the dialog will have a corresponding XML parameter in the script file. When executing the script, you can modify the value for any of these XML parameters.

×

Loading...