Restoring an OpenShift Application

Updated

You can restore applications in place or out of place.

When you restore an application, the persistent volumes, secrets, and configuration maps are also restored.

Note: The restored application does not include the following items, which are not part of the deployment configuration:

  • Services

  • Routes

  • Provisioned services

Reconfigure these items after restoring an application.

Before You Begin

If a passkey is configured for restores, obtain the passkey so that you can enter it when prompted.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. On the VM groups tab, in the row for the VM group, click the action button , and then click Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, in the upper-right corner of the page, click Settings, and then from the Source list, select the copy.

    If you leave select Automatic selected, the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Select Full application to restore a full instance.

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Select the applications to restore.

    In the upper-right corner of the page, a "Showing" message indicates what backup data is displayed. You can click the down arrow beside this message and select any of the following options:

    • Show latest backups: Display data for the most recent backups.

    • Show backups as of a specific date: Display data up to the date that you specify.

    • Show backups for a date range: Display data within the data range that you specify.

  7. Click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Specify the following information:

    • Type: Select one of the following options:

      • In place: Restore to the original location.

        To avoid overwriting the original source application for an in-place restore, edit the application display name.

      • Out of place: Restore to a different location.

    • Destination hypervisor: Select the hypervisor for the restored application.

    • Access node: (Optional) From the list, select a VSA proxy to stage the data for the restore operation.

      By default, the preferred VSA proxy for the hypervisor stages the data.

    • Application display name: For each application, modify the name to create a different display name for the restored application.

    • Projects: To specify a project for a restored application, click All applications or a specific application, and then select a project from the list.

    • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: (Optional) To delete an existing application and replace it with the restored application, select this option.

  9. Click Submit.