Applies to: File system servers
At the data source level, you can delete groups of files or individual files. When you delete files from backup, a request is sent to a reviewer and an approver. The request must be reviewed and approved before the files are deleted. If you are deleting files from a live source, creating a review request is optional.
From the navigation pane, go to Data Insights.
The Data Insights page appears.
Under Risk Analysis, click File storage optimization.
The File storage optimization page appears.
On the Servers tab, next to the server name, click the down arrow .
The data sources for the server appear.
In the Data source name column, click the data source.
On the Discover tab, the data source dashboard page appears.
Select the files that you want to delete:
To delete a group of files, use a dashboard to give you the best view of the files:
From the dashboard list, select a dashboard.
For example, to delete duplicate files, select the File duplicates dashboard.
Use the dashboard tiles to filter the files.
For example, to only delete larger files, in the file ownership Size tile, select the Above 5 GB check box.
To select from a list of individual files, on the Review tab, select the files that you want to delete.
If the data source is a NetApp filer with monitoring enabled, file monitoring information is available in the right-hand pane.
In the upper-right corner of the page, click Delete files.
The Delete dialog box appears and lists the number of files that will be deleted.
To delete files from the data source, select Delete from source.
Note: Files that are deleted from the data source still exist in backups and will continue to be shown in the analysis.
To permanently delete files from the backup media, select Delete from backup.
Caution: Permanently deleted data cannot be restored.
If you are deleting files from backup, add reviewers and approvers to the review request:
On the Reviewers tab, in the Assign reviewers box, enter the names of the users who will review the request.
On the Approvers tab, in the Assign approvers box, enter the names of the users who will approve the request.
To have the person creating the request also approve the request, leave the Assign approvers box empty.
The users who you add as reviewers and approvers receive an email with instructions about how to review and approve items in the request. The request must be reviewed and approved before the files are deleted from backup.
Note: If you are deleting files from a live source, creating a review request is optional.