Restoring a SharePoint Online Site to Its Original Location (In Place)

Updated

On this page

You can restore the SharePoint Online sites to their original location (in place).

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Applications > Office 365.

  2. The Office 365 apps page appears.

  3. Click the app that contains the sites you want to restore.

    The app page appears.

  4. On the Sites tab, select the sites you want to restore.

  5. Click Restore, and then click Restore sites.

    The Restore options dialog box appears, with options for restoring to the original location already selected.

  6. Enter the Azure storage account details.

  7. Under File options, for If the file exists, specify what to do with existing items:

    • To overwrite existing items, select Overwrite unconditionally.

    • To not overwrite existing items, select Skip.

  8. Under Advanced options, do the following:

    • To restore the ACLs, select the Restore ACLs only check box.

    • To restore the workflow definitions and alerts, select the Restore workflow definition and alerts only check box.

    • To restore only the latest version, select the Restore latest version only check box.

  9. Click Restore.

Tip: To search for data to restore, use the search box in the upper-right area of the page. When you click the search box, more search capabilities appear.