Restoring a OneDrive for Business User to Its Original Location (In Place)

Updated

On this page

You can restore the OneDrive for Business users to their original location.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Applications > Office 365.

    The Office 365 apps page appears.

  2. Click the app that contains the users that you want to restore.

    The app page appears.

  3. On the Users tab, select the users that you want to restore.

  4. Click Restore, and then click Restore user.

    The Restore options dialog box appears, with options for restoring to the original location already selected.

  5. Under File options, specify what to do with existing items:

    • To not overwrite existing items, select Skip.

    • To keep as a copy of the existing item, select Restore as a copy.

    • To overwrite existing items, select Unconditionally overwrite.

      If the original file is deleted from the OneDrive account, then the file is restored with its name. If the original file still exists, then the file is restored as a copy of the original file.

  6. Click Submit.

Tip: To search for data to restore, use the search box in the upper-right area of the page. When you click the search box, more search capabilities appear.