Restoring Full Virtual Machines for Azure Stack HCI

Updated

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

Due to a Microsoft limitation, you cannot change the hostname of a restored virtual machine.

Before You Begin

If a passkey is configured for restores, obtain the passkey so that you can enter it when prompted.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears.

  3. On the VM groups tab, in the row for the VM group, click the action button , and then click Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, in the upper-right corner of the page, click Settings, and then from the Source list, select the copy.

    If you leave select Automatic selected, the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. Click Full virtual machine

    The Restore page appears.

  6. Select the data to restore, and then click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  7. Provide the requested information:

    • Destination: To restore to a different cluster, select the virtualization client for the cluster from the list.

    • Destination client: Select the target host from the list.

      All Azure Stack HCI nodes are displayed.

    • Disk provisioning: Select one of the following options:

      • Original: (default) Use the same disk provisioning that the source virtual machine used at the time of backup.

      • Fixed: Allocate disk space for all disks. A fixed virtual disk has reserved storage that is the same size as the virtual disk itself.

      • Dynamic: Allocate disk space for all disks. Dynamic disk storage is not reserved and is allocated as needed during runtime. This allows for storage over commitment under the assumption that most disks are not fully utilized and storage capacity can be utilized better.

    • Default restore location: Select one of the following options:

      • Original folder

      • Select a folder

      • Azure Stack HCI default folder

    • VM display name: Type a new virtual machine name in the box.

      This option does not display if you are restoring multiple VMs. If an existing VM with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Overwrite VMs if they already exist, the restore job fails.

    • Destination folder: Select a new folder from the list.

    • Network adapter: Select an available network adapter from the list.

      By default, the network adapter of the original VM is selected automatically if the same network adapter is available on the Azure Stack HCI server.

      If you select Not Connected, the virtual machine is restored without a network connection.

    • Power ON Virtual Machine after Restore: To automatically start the virtual machine after the restore is complete, select this check box.

      Note the following:

      • The power state of the virtual machine does not affect subsequent backups.

      • If the virtual machine is powered on during the backup operation, by default, the VM is powered on after the restore completes (unless you clear this check box).

      • If you perform an out-of-place restore, by default, the VM is powered off after the restore completes (regardless of the value selected for this option).

    • Overwrite VMs if they already exist: Delete an existing virtual machine that has the same name and replace it with the restored VM.

    • Register virtual machine with failover cluster: Enable the restored VM to migrate to another node in the cluster.

  8. Click Submit.