Performing Live Recovery of Virtual Machines for Hyper-V

Updated

You can use the Live Recovery feature to recover virtual machines (VMs) from a backup without waiting for a full restore of the VM. In addition, you can configure the VMs to power on during the restore operation. This feature can be especially useful when a VM has failed and needs to be placed back in production quickly, or to validate that a backup can be used in a disaster recovery scenario.

Before You Begin

The Live Recovery feature uses a 3DFS cache on the MediaAgent that performs the Live Recovery. By default, the 3DFS cache is located in the Job Results folder for the MediaAgent; but you can change the path using the s3dfsRootDir additional setting. The 3DFS cache is circular; unused data are pruned from the cache as needed.

Procedure

You can initiate a restore operation from the Virtual machines page or from the VM groups page. With the following procedure, you are initiating the restore of a VM from the VM groups page.

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears.

  3. On the VM groups tab, in the row for the VM group, click the action button , and then click Restore.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. To restore from a specific copy of backup data, in the upper-right corner of the page, click Settings, and then from the Source list, select the copy.

    If you leave select Automatic selected, the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy, and automatically selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

  5. To perform a Live Recovery, select Full virtual machine.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

    Note: If you initiated a restore operation from the Virtual machines page, on the Select restore type page, select Live Recovery.

  6. Select one of the following restore options:

    • In place: Restores the VM to the original location.

      Provide the following information:

      1. For Destination client, select the target host from the list.

        All Hyper-V nodes are displayed.

      2. To delete an existing virtual machine that has the same name and replace it with the restored VM, select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists.

      3. To enable the restored VM to migrate to another node in the cluster, select Register virtual machine with failover cluster.

    • Out of place: Restores the VM to a different location.

      Provide the following information:

      1. For Destination, to restore to a different cluster, select the virtualization client for the cluster from the list.

      2. For Destination client, select the target host from the list.

        All Hyper-V nodes are displayed.

      3. For Restore location, select the appropriate folder to which the restore should occur.

      4. For VM display name, type a new virtual machine name in the box.

        If an existing VM with the same name exists on the destination host and you do not select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists, the Live Recovery restore job fails.

      5. For Network adapter, select an available network adapter from the list.

        By default, the network adapter of the original VM is automatically selected if the same network adapter is available on the Hyper-V Server.

        If you select Not Connected, the virtual machine is restored without a network connection.

      6. To delete an existing virtual machine that has the same name and replace it with the restored VM, select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists.

      7. To enable the restored VM to migrate to another node in the cluster, select Register virtual machine with failover cluster.

  7. Configure Additional options:

    • For Restore virtual machine using live recovery, move the toggle button to the right to enable the feature.

      Note: If you initiated the restore operation for the VM from the Virtual machines page, the Restore virtual machine using live recovery option is already selected (enabled) and cannot be cleared.

    • To delay the migration of the VM to the destination location, select the specified time (0-12 hours) in the Delay migration box.

  8. Click Submit.