Restores for Teams

Updated

You can restore an entire team, a channel, or Teams items such as posts, files, and wikis to the original location or to a different location. For files, in addition to restoring to the original location or to another location, you can also restore to a file location.

Note: You can restore only Teams uploaded files at a file location. Wikis, posts and channels cannot be restored to a file location.

Results of Restores Depend on Data Types and Restore Locations

The results of restores of Teams data depend on the data type and the restore location.

Team item

Original location

Another location

File location

Teams

The team is restored to the original team.

You can choose whether to overwrite the existing team.

The team is restored to a different team.

After the restore operation, the destination team will be updated with the source channel name.

Not applicable.

Channel

The channel is restored to its original location.

You can choose whether to overwrite the existing content of the channel.

Posts are not overwritten.

The channel is restored to a different channel in the same team or to another team.

Not applicable.

Post

Posts are restored to the original location.

The service account information is displayed first, followed by the sender name.

Reactions to posts are not restored.

Posts are restored to another channel in the same team.

On the restored posts, the service account information will be displayed first, followed by sender name.

Reactions to posts are not restored.

Not applicable.

Wiki

The wiki page is restored to the original team.

You can choose whether to overwrite the existing wiki pages.

If the same wiki page is restored multiple times, then each restore operation creates a new page with the same name.

The wiki page is restored to a different channel in the same team or to another team.

Not applicable.

File

The file is restored to the same team.

You can choose whether to overwrite the existing existing files.

The file is restored to a different team, to a different channel, or to a folder.

The file is restored to the file system of the destination client.