Erasing the Contents of a Laptop from the Command Center

Updated

If a missing laptop is not recovered, you can securely erase the contents of the laptop. By default, the contents that are erased are the same contents that are backed up on the laptop.

Before You Begin

Report the laptop as missing.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Laptops.

    The Laptops page appears.

  2. In the Name column, click the laptop that needs to be erased.

    The laptop page appears.

  3. In the Contents tile, click Erase content.

    The Erase content dialog box appears.

  4. Review the content that will be erased, and if needed, modify the contents:

Content to erase

Steps

Content that is backed up

(default option)

  1. In the Content to erase box, review the content that will be erased.

  2. In the Exclude - files/folders/patterns box, review the content that will not be erased.

Additional content

  1. In the upper-right corner of the Content to erase box, click Add.

    The Add content dialog box appears.

  2. Click the check box beside the folders that you want to erase.

  3. To add folder paths or wildcard characters, click Add custom content.

  4. Click Save.

All content

  1. In the upper-right corner of the Content to erase box, click Erase all.

    The box displays All contents.

  2. In the Exclude - files/folders/patterns box, review the content that will not be erased.

Exclude content

  1. In the upper-right corner of the Exclude - files/folders/patterns box, click Add.

    The Exclude content dialog box appears.

  2. Click the check box beside the folders that you do not want to erase.

  3. To add file paths or wildcard characters, click Add custom content.

  4. Click Save.

Tip: To remove individual items, hover over the item, and then click x. To remove all exclusions from the Exclude - files/folders/patterns box, click Remove all.

  1. Click Erase.