Restoring Files and Folders for a Laptop or a Computer

Updated

You can restore backed-up data, including data that was previously deleted, to the same computer or laptop or a different computer or laptop.

Before You Begin

If a passkey is configured for restores, obtain the passkey so that you can enter it when prompted.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Laptops.

    The Laptops page appears.

  2. In the Actions column for the laptop or computer that you want to restore, click the action button , and then click Restore.

    The Backup content page appears.

  3. Browse for the files and folders that you want to restore.

    Tip: You can change the backup content you see by using the filter options in the upper-right corner of the page.

  4. To view data that was deleted from the previous backup operations, click the action button , and then click Show deleted items.

    Any previously deleted backed-up data appears.

  5. Select the check boxes for the files and folders that you want to restore.

  6. Click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  7. Choose how you want to restore the data:

    • Destination client: Select the client where you want to restore the data.

    • Restore data instead of stub: Restores the backed-up data instead of the stub.

    • Restore to original folder: (default) The option to restore data to the folder from where it was backed up. If you want to enter a new path in the Destination path box, clear this check box.

    • Destination path: If you cleared the Restore to original folder check box, click Browse to choose a folder or to create a new folder. The data is restored to the folder that you choose or create.

    • Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists: The option to overwrite files and folders on the destination laptop or computer with the files and folders you are restoring.

    • Impersonate user: Select this option, and then, in the Username and Password boxes, enter the credentials for a user account that has permissions to execute the restore process on the destination client.

    • When the job completes, notify me via email: Select this option if you want to receive an email when the restore job completes.

  8. Click Submit.