Restoring Full Virtual Machines for Azure

Updated

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

You can back up virtual machines configured with Azure unmanaged and managed disks. From these backups, you can restore full virtual machines and restore guest files and folders. In addition, you can restore a virtual machine disk and attach it to an existing virtual machine.

To manage storage and costs, you can select the disk type (standard HDD, standard SSD, or premium SSD) for the Azure destination VM (managed disks only).

Due to a Microsoft limitation, you cannot change the hostname of a restored virtual machine.

Before You Begin

  • If a passkey is configured for restores, you must have the passkey.

  • If you want to restore data using a specific MediaAgent and/or copy, review the information in MediaAgent and Copy Precedence Considerations for Virtualization Restores.

  • If you want to select the disk encryption set (DES) when you fully restore VMs, verify the following:

    • DES is available in the region you want restore the VM.

    • Microsoft.Compute/deskEncryptionSet/read is set in CVbackupRole. For more information, see Setting Up an Application and Tenant for Azure.

      Note: Commvault runs the restore job whether or not the permission is assigned to CVbackupRole.

  • If you restore a DES encrypted VM from a snap, the VM will restore using the same DES as the source VM.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears. The VM groups area displays summary information for any existing VM groups.

  3. In the VM groups area, click Restore for the VM group that contains the virtual machine.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. Select Full virtual machine.

    The Restore page appears.

  5. To choose a different MediaAgent or source copy for the restore, on the top right corner of the page, click Settings.

    The Settings dialog box appears.

  6. Configure the following options, and then click Save:

    • MediaAgent: Allow the Commvault software to select a MediaAgent or specify a MediaAgent:

      • Automatic: By default, the Commvault software selects the MediaAgent for the restore operation based on availability and environment.

      • To restore data using a specific MediaAgent, from the list, select a MediaAgent.

    • Source: Allow the Commvault software to select the copy of backup data or specify the copy:

      • Automatic: By default, the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy and selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

      • To restore from a specific copy of backup data, from the list, select a backup copy.

  7. Select the data to restore, and then click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Under Type, select one of the following options:

    • In place: Restore to the original location.

      To avoid overwriting the original source VM, edit the VM display name for an in-place restore.

    • Out of place: Restore to a different location.

  9. Under Restore as, select the target environment from the list. By default, the Restore as list shows the source hypervisor.

  10. Under Destination, select the destination hypervisor for the restore operation.

  11. Under Access node, select an access node (also called a proxy) or an access node group for the restore.

    When you restore multiple instances or VMs, select Automatic to distribute the workload (instances or VMs) in the restore job across the access nodes (also called proxies) that are assigned for the destination hypervisor.

    First, the instances or VMs are assigned to the access nodes by a region match. Then, if access nodes are not available in the same region, the instances or VMs are assigned using the round-robin method.

    The Automatic option to distribute the workload is available for full restore and conversion operations both from streaming backups and IntelliSnap backup copies.

    If you select an access node group to restore VMs, the Commvault software distributes the workload (instances or VMs) in the restore job across the access nodes (also called proxies) that are available in the access node group.

  12. If you are restoring multiple VMs, click the All VMs tab on the bottom left to specify configuration values for all VMs you are restoring, or the name of each VM to specify values individually. Specify the following values:

    • VM display name: (Optional) To change the name of an individual VM, enter the new display name in the box.

    • Enable edit destination VM name: (Optional) When restoring multiple VMs, to change the names of destination VMs, select this option, select Prefix or Suffix, and then enter a string to append to the original display name to create new destination VM names.

    • Resource group: Enter a name in the box to specify the resource group for the restored VM.

    • Region: Select the region for the restored VM.

    • Availability zone: Select the predefined availability zone for the restored VM.

      The zones listed apply only to the region selected for the restored VM. If you select the Auto option rather than a specific Availability Zone (1, 2, or 3), and if the feature is supported for the specified region and VM size, the VM is restored to the same Availability Zone as the source VM, otherwise, it is restored without a zone (No Zone).

      This field applies only to Azure managed disks.

    • Storage account: Select an Azure Standard or Premium general-purpose storage account. You can select a different storage account for each virtual machine and disk.

      The storage accounts listed are only those associated with the selected region for the restored VM.

    • VM size: Select a size specification for the restored virtual machine.

    • Disk Type: (Out-of-place restore for Azure managed disks only) Select the disk type for the destination VM: Original (same as the source VM), Standard HDD, Standard SSD, Premium SSD.

    • Network settings:

      • Virtual network/subnet: Select the network settings.

      • Preferred private IP type: Select either Dynamic or Static. If you select Static, the following appears:

        - Static private IP: Enter the IP address.

      • Create/assign public IP: If this is selected, the Public IP type entry appears.

      • Public IP type: Select either Dynamic or Static. If you select Static, the following appears:

        - Static public IP: Enter the IP address.

    • Encryption Settings:

      • Disk encryption type: Select one of the following encryption types that you want the VM to have when you restore it:

        Original

        (Default) Encryption at-rest with a platform-managed key

        Encryption at-rest with a customer-managed key

        Double encryption with platform-managed and customer-managed keys

      • Disk encryption set: Select the relevant DES.

    • Security Group: Specify a network security group for the restored VM or leave the default value of Auto Select.

    • Restore as a managed VM: To restore virtual machines as managed virtual machines, select this check box.

      When you select this option, the restore operation creates virtual machine disks in the specified storage account, converts them to managed disks, and then attaches the disks to the restored virtual machine.

  13. To automatically start the virtual machine after the restore is complete, select Power ON Virtual Machine after Restore.

    Note the following:

    • The power state of the virtual machine does not affect subsequent backups.

    • If the virtual machine is powered on during the backup operation, by default, the VM is powered on after the restore completes (unless you clear this check box).

    • If you perform an out-of-place restore, by default, the VM is powered off after the restore completes (regardless of the value selected for this option).

  14. To delete an existing virtual machine, and then replace it with the restored VM, select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists.

  15. Click Submit.

To restore to a different virtualization platform, see Cross-Hypervisor Restores.